APPRECIATE THE SMALL THINGS

in #travel6 years ago

We tend to forget how privileged we are to live in the world that we do. We forget to see the beauty that is right in front of us and tend to notice the negatives before the positives.

for a long time I was envious of those who got to travel around the world while i was " stuck" in my home country - South Africa. I had to see the same things over and over again whilst they got to explore places they'd never seen before.

It was only as I got older that I have realized that I had nothing to be envious about. I live in a beautiful place, packed with magnificent things to see and experience. I never truly appreciated the beaches, mountains and diverse animal and plant life. I never stopped for a moment to look around and notice the small things that together created one breathtaking picture.

The greatest thing about learning to appreciate the small things, is that you start to find happiness in places you never thought you would. I stand in awe at every sunset and feel complete happiness asI breathe in the crisp scent of the ocean.

No matter where in the world you are, there is greatness in every corner, there is beauty in every view, and there is a new adventure right on your doorstep.
All you need to do is look.

Sort:  

Life feels so much better when you learn to appreciate the beauty around you. I used to be a negative person, depressed, and hopeless. I learned that that is a filter I put on my experience. It's never been all bad, but I didn't allow myself to see or remember the good parts.

Now, I don't let a mistake or a setback keep me down. It's all learning and I filter for the positive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61