Explore With Me : Valencia – SPAIN

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Valencia -the capital of Comunidad Valenciana- is Spain’s third largest city after Madrid and Barcelona. Located on east coast of Spain the city has the mediterranean climate with mild winters and long, hot summers, making it a preferable place for those who want to escape hard winters. The first vibe the city gave me was it was a place to live. With its blue flag beach, palm trees and relaxed, happy folk.

09fa95b9-eb2f-48cf-8d11-11414b84d8f7.jpg

Even though it was cloudy when I visited the city, it was still hot and we enjoyed the beach with my best friend.

6d1d56f0-153c-4e77-916b-0a1fd0200f77.jpg

Valencia has a little bit of everything, founded in 138 BC by Romans, it has history and culture combined with modern architecture. It offers wide variety of attrations even for the pickiest travelers.

4412830c-649e-4a79-91a5-6bedb3d81d86.jpg

67804d82-5665-47f0-862f-bbecd7b14ca1.jpg

The old town offers historical buildings. Plaza de la Virgen is central to Valencia also pretty close to our hostel therefore we started our sightseeing here. The square is a pleasure to walk around or you can have drink and enjoy this less crowded part of the city. Famous Turia Fountain can be seen here.

9e54ab95-459d-4b85-ad9c-254e2447ce04.jpg

Valencia's Cathedral is an impressive building between two beautiful squares: Plaza de la Reina and the Plaza de la Virgen. It was builded on 13th century by Arabs as a mosque. Ever since the city is confiscated by Christians it is used as a cathedral. And I seem to have lost all he photos I took of he cathedral.

Torres de serranos (Ancient town gate) is another landmark of Valencia. One of the rare buildings remaining from middle age with almost no harm. Though the main duty of twelve doors was initially the protection of the city, it was mostly used for celebrations. Even today it is the starting point of many festivals.

3723b56c-9203-4fbd-9c91-f6bf4c67f57a.jpg

The city of arts and science will leave you breathless as it is considered one of the best example of modern architecture in the world. It consists of Prince Felipe Science Museum, Opera House, Hemisferic, Agora, Umbracle and Oceanografic.

78f058c9-0aab-42ee-9603-df356b4b686f.jpg

352f87e5-daca-4e00-8555-b8115721a000.jpg

dbbd3a82-79ed-4ffc-8967-a0c02c120425.jpg

a44aeae7-a365-4488-bb4b-ce831f92a792.jpg

We spent quite some time in the Oceanografic. It is the biggest aquarium in Europe and you can see large variety of animals. It is a great place to see but if you have short amount of time in town, you might want to skip this, since it takes a lot of time.

fc63628b-385e-406a-8f36-e1a69c477ea5.jpg

ffc6436e-62de-400d-aed2-e385bca128c7.jpg

c2609803-9009-4d85-bfe9-26641f4ae3f0.jpg

68ccb6f2-da4e-4207-84e1-d45d0147e676.jpg

0077dd47-6742-454e-8ee3-d4f5418edd8d.jpg

8d3c6d4c-be81-4c09-9e04-211c774871c2.jpg

241551bb-4bcc-4588-b41b-8ce8b383bd00.jpg

The Turia Gardens is placed right next to City of Arts and Science. The Turia River caused a huge disaster and caused 81 death on 1975. And the route of the river is changed by the government. And the old route turned in to these gardens where people ride their bikes, take a walk and enjoy the view.

DSCN3882.JPG

Valencia is the birthplace of Paella. So we had to have it when we are in town. And it was delicious.

f1523099-01b9-4670-af00-95524e294a80.jpg

There are many other places to see in Valencia. We had only two days and these are the places we were able to see. But I am planning to visit Valencia for more, even live there for a few months. Because as I said before; Valencia is a place to live.

Sort:  

This is one of the great travel post. I am also planning to show you guys about my city.

Upvoted and Resteemed this one

Thank you for you support, I appreciate it a lot! Looking forward to read about your city.
I followed you as well

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

@banjo bu gönderiyi beğenir misin?

Wow, now you're confusing me with someone else? Heartless.

Very nice post. I like how well written you are. Where are you from? English must be your first language. I see Izmir is in Turkey. Are you Turkish? Keep up the great work! up-voted and following -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

By the way are you on steemit.chat?

Hi! Thank you, I am Turkish and English is not my first language but I'm glad you think my English is good :) Thank you for upvote and following as well, I appreciate it.

If by steemit.chat you mean discord, yes I do use it. If not, no I am not, what is that?

Steemit.chat is another discord like program. I'm on both I'll find you on discord. Congratulation on mastering English like you have. I'm very impressed!

I couldn't find you on discord do you have a name on there other than what you go by on here?

Here is a link to the new traveler channel on discord set up by my buddy @jpphotography

https://discord.gg/RcPmeXE

amazing shots, great post and lovely city! :) hope to go there some day :)

Thank you! Hope you do go there one day.

Damn! Can you believe that in 5 years in Spain I have not yet seen Valencia!? It's still on my Spanish bucket list (with Canaries and Ibiza and a few more places). Thanks for the photos, i think this year will be the year!

I've only been to Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia - the tourist cities-. But living in Spain is a dream.

I live here in Alicante for 3 yrs. now & only 2 hrs. Away from Valencia but never been here yet. Damn! :D

Hopefully this year b'coz it's also in my bucket list.

Did you go to the oldest restaurant in the world - restaurante Botin (guiness book title holder) which is located in Madrid @cerensenapa?

Unfortunately i didn't. Maybe next time :)

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Valencia is one of my favourite cities in the world. Thank you for taking me back a little. I especially love the park surrounding the city, the beach and the city of arts and science.

Yes, the city has a very relaxed vibe. One of my favourites as well. Thank you for dropping by!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

I've been to Spain quite a few times, but have never been to Valencia, seems to be quite an interesting city to spend some time at, I might have to check it out sometime soon, haha!

Oh thank you for featuring me! It is a beautiful city with really happy people living there. There is a vcation vibe in the city. You should visit there!

You're most welcome it was well deserved! I think I will next time I'm around there!

I am also part of the curation guild @ocd, and can definitely nominate your post there as well if you want! Just let me know here!

Oh i would love to. Is there something i should do?

Nope, just wait and keep your fingers crossed you're one of the winning nominations, haha!

Nominating it right now, so if it is selected, it should be up tomorrow!

Such a nice place, the photos looks amazing!

Thank you :) it is a beautiful city

nice post with tons of photos...

thumbs-up.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60