A Whirlwind Recap of my California Trip

in #travel7 years ago

Hey everyone! I'm currently flying back to DC after a 5 day trip to San Jose. I had an absolute blast! Although I have only been to San Jose twice before, it has already become a second home for me (well, third home after Steemit). I remember thinking wistfully, as I was flying out of San Jose's Mineta International Airport, when I'll get another opportunity to return to good ol' California....

17655400213_14bcb86dc0_b.jpg
Credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ap0013/17655400213

So while the details are still fresh in my memory as I wait for my connecting flight, let's recap my week in San Jose at the DataWorks Summit:

• I got here a day before the conference on Monday afternoon to get settled in at the Four Points By Sheraton Hotel. A little tricky to find (since the main entrance is on the corner of another street) but great location and proximity to the Convention Center. Check-in at the hotel was a piece of cake and there was free water all day long!

four-points-by-sheraton.jpg
Credit:http://www.travelpod.com/hotel/Hotel_Montgomery_A_Joie_De_Vivre_Boutique_Hotel-San_Jose.html

• I got a comfy room on the 3rd floor with a nice king sized bed, causing me to lay back and watch some TV and nearly doze off too before I remembered that I had to eat!

• Postmates and UberEats were absolute life-saving apps since they allowed me to order lunch from Chipotle and dinner from nearby restaurants relatively quickly and inexpensively. I ate mostly healthy food - salads and grilled salmon - but did take a break on Wednesday night when I ordered a hot fudge banana sundae from Baskin Robbins!

baskin-robbins-004.jpg
Credit: https://seasoningandsalt.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/baskin-robbins-concord-ca/

• I didn't try a lot of food at the Sheraton but breakfast was always great - my usual order was the "Healthy Choice" - scrambled eggs, an assortment of fruit, wheat toast and several refills of water.

• I felt a little jet lagged throughout the trip since I was still running on East Coast time, but that didn't stop me from watching Nick at Nite until 12 pm PST every night! I stayed awake Steeming and watching old reruns of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air until George Lopez came on....

nickatnite.jpg
Credit: http://www.nickatnite.com

• I checked in at the convention center right before our booth meeting on Tuesday morning. I essentially manned the IBM Machine Learning booth by presenting two machine learning demos that I developed for healthcare. Don't worry guys - I'll show you these demos really soon!

convention-center-pano.jpg
Credit: http://www.sanjose.org/convention-center/

• One of the biggest draws to our booth was Jenga - attendees from different companies and organizations kept coming over to stack up blocks and even knocked it all over a few times to hilarious results!

• As you already know, I gave my first live CUBE interview and it was a great experience! It was especially convenient that the SiliconANGLE Media staff immediately uploaded the video to YouTube and Siliconangle.tv by the next morning.

• While presenting my demos, I actually met a blockchain investor and exchanged numbers to later add him to my Telegram group. Always great to meet a fellow crypto enthusiast!

• Whenever I came back to my hotel room after a long day of conferencing, I turned on my laptop and jumped right into Steemit!

• One of the only lowlights of the trip was that the zipper broke on my messenger bag, so I had to visit Macy's and buy a new one - a mahogany brown Samsonite messenger bag. Check it out - I think it's pretty baller!

532281847be01.jpg
Credit: http://shop.samsonite.com/business/attaches-briefcases/samsonite-leather-dowel-flapover-business-case/53228XXXX.html

• Afterwards I ate for the first time at Cheesecake Factory and one of the servers actually recognized me from theCUBE! Doctor Ace finally getting some recognition around here ;)

3ce6ffa91c6208c1ce16a093e3744752.jpg
Credit: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/392165080022389641/

• I finally flew out this morning and I'll be spending most of my Friday on a plane. But I will take full advantage by getting in plenty of sleep - I'll be wide awake for all of you by the time I reach DC!

I can't wait to see when and where is the next conference - either Orlando in July or New York in September - but I would love to do some international travel soon. That'll most likely happen in mid-August so stay tuned - I might even break out the video camera for a little vlog!

Do you wanna see Ace do some travel vlogs on future trips? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time, keep acing life!
YouTube channel art.png

Sort:  

Keep up the great work!

Upvoted & followed!

Kind regards,

Congratulations @cerebralace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45