I Fall in Love With Every Place I Visit

in #travel6 years ago

I kid you not, I want to move everywhere I visit. I can't help it, I fall in love with the trees, the weather, the people, the food. I think to myself "I should buy a house here".

IMG_20180718_201118.jpg

This year I had the blessing of visiting Acapulco, Mexico for 6 weeks, taking a 3.5 week road trip from Texas to California and back, a month road trip to New Hampshire and back, and a week long trip to Florida.

I fell so in love with Mexico that I decided to go back for 6 months starting later this year. I lived like a queen in Mexico! The food was delicious, fresh and insanely affordable. I got a massage every week, and enjoyed life on the beach. I spent way less and lived more abundantly than when I lived in the United States.

I posted a million photos of Mexico on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/uncoinventional/

Screenshot_20180720-094027.jpg

My heart also fell in love with northern New Mexico.... As we were driving into the area I literally said, "I could write a book here". Sure enough, there is an artists retreat center called Ghost Ranch that used to be owned by Georgia O'Keefe (famous painter). Her property is now used to inspire artists who write or paint or do pottery... there is camping, hiking, horseback riding, etc....

I posted about this trip on Instagram as well:

Screenshot_20180720-153834.jpg

In addition to the retreat center, there is an amazing hot mineral springs called Ojo Calliente. These springs were used by the indigenous people to heal and restore after winter, and have been used for decades by Western culture to cure many ailments. The area was so special I truly didn't want to leave. I wanted to buy a small place and stay to work on my creative endeavors (my book!).

Of course every time I go to the northeast I think "I have to move here". Usually my heart stays in New Hampshire, but this year it was Ohio of all places! We visited the Raven Rocks ecovillage (many videos already uploaded to @homestead-guru) and no one in my family wanted to leave. Their community is solid, established, vibrant and the land was incredible. Check out this photo of the ravines that were onced use as a ceremonial site for the indigenous people of Ohio:

IMG_20180614_091504_584.jpg

Of course I want to stay home every time I visit Kansas City. My heart belongs in Missouri, I am of the land, of the waters, of the people. Not to mention how affordable housing is in the area! My roots! My family! My love!

IMG_20180704_191401_Bokeh.jpg

I most recently returned from Florida where the waters were crystal emerald and the people were kind. Again, my brain is trying to figure out how to dig roots in the area so I can visit more often. Florida has replaced my desire to land in San Diego, honestly. The water, the water!!!!

IMG_20180713_180948_046.jpg

I fall in love with every place I visit (almost). It's why I have lived in a converted school bus for 3.5 years. My wanderlust has grown beyond road travel, though, and I find myself wanting to explore places even farther off. Next on the agenda, Italy.

Where is your favorite destination? Let me know so I can add it to my list of places to go!!!

Sort:  

People who love nature and enjoy every thing present in the surrounding have beautiful soul and soft heart.

I know what you mean, to travel is to truly live a life :)
Experience things or collect things - pick one it’s difficult to do both well

Hiii... Catherinebleish

Great And Very Informative Post.

@catherinebleish It is an unexpected love of life, Roaming new place and visit everywhere you want, a kind of nature love which we can't explain

I can feel and almost smell the freedom of this post! I wish you happy future travels! It is a real treasure that your family has to be able to travel all around the world :) Keep on going as long as you can. Every place on earth should be earned by every human :)

I do the same thing! I've been traveling for almost 5 years now and am ALWAYS on the lookout for my next home... But when you love everywhere it's hard to stay anywhere. If I HAD to choose though, I love Lisbon, Cape Town, and Rio De Janiero.

P.S. I'm brand new here! Just posted an IntroduceYourself post and am trying to get into the Steemit game :)

Nice post :) So where is your favorite place and which place you haven't visited yet would you like to visit? My favorite destination is Asia, especially China. Also my home country, The Netherlands :) Welcome to visit! I will be posting travel related posts soon and guides for places I visit. Have a look at my posts :)

Usually I never comment on blogs but your article is so convincing that I never stop myself to say something about it. You’re doing a great job Man,Keep it up.

Very amazing photography

Waaawww. Nice bro. visit also my profile @fariskhan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50