Hiking in the Dark

in #travel6 years ago

5beb5d75-5dda-42ae-ae62-27206524ac9e.jpeg


Last week I went on a hike in the woods and got stuck out on the trail way past dark. .
.
.
WAY past dark. .
.
.
I walked at least 2 miles in total darkness. I had my dog and I have hiked this trail many times before, so I felt relatively safe.... Yet I was on edge and ready to protect myself the entire fast-paced walk back to the trailhead through the often overgrown trail (where a park ranger was waiting and concerned, of course)
.
.
.
It took a few days for it to sink in how perfectly this living metaphor applies to my life right now. .
.
.
I have ventured out onto a new trail and am far enough along that I can't really turn around, I am in the dark and gently refusing to feel hysterically afraid.
.
.
.
But fear wants to creep in. I am moving out of the converted school bus, my home for 3.5 years. My safe space. My lifeboat. My turtle shell. .
.
.
I am leaving what feels so comfortable and safe and stable and I am redesigning my life so that I may experience more of the entire WORLD. .
.
.
It is happening fast. In 6 days I fly to Turkey for a layover on my way to Italy, and when I return I will officially be living on the road, NOT in my bus, until I arrive in Mexico for a six month stay. .
.
.
I am walking quickly, acting swiftly, and keeping my senses on alert. Its familiar (travel) but dark (no bus, foreign languages!), and I will have people I love walking beside me. .
.
.
The time is upon me. It has arrived. I am only SLIGHTLY terrified.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Heck yeah! Those are the best feelings when we're making huge transitions in life. It's good you've got loved ones with you though to share the experience and offer some familiarity to the process :)

Best of luck and success to you!

Safety first, but enjoy your trips! :)

great you walk 2 miles in the dark #catherinebleish...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74