What I learned from living in Malaysia

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_20170731_215016.jpg

Almost a year ago in August 2017, I came to Malaysia thinking I was going to be around for at least a year with my internship in a start up, but a year turned out to 3 months. Let's call it a mismatch in expectations on both side.

None the less I learned a lot about the Malaysian culture while I was there. One of the first things that popped into my head when I landed in Kuala Lumpur and took a taxi to the city center was the great diversity of people. Truly a mixed pot. Mosques laying next to temples and buddhist, christians and muslims living side by side, respecting one another's religion (as far as I experienced it).

I'll share 3 things which are the common 3 things I think about when looking back.

1) Kuala Lumpur is the P E R F E C T hub, for flying out and experiencing Southeast Asia. With your best friend AirAsia, it is not only easy it is also affordable to experience surrounding countries. In my 3 months I visited Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore and Hong Kong. My most expensive flight was to Hong Kong which was a 4 hour flight, and it costed me just over 100 USD!

2) Malaysia does not only offer diversity in people, also in scenery from the concrete jungle Kuala Lumpur is, to the oldest jungle in the world and many beautiful picture perfect crystal clear water islands.
I had the chance to visit some of the islands, where Perhenthian Islands was by far my best experience, see photo below (no filter!!)

3) Malaysia is extremely corrupt and money definitely talks. Let the history of their current president speak for itself, but looking at how to become a Datuk (recognized as an important person in Malaysia), normally you would obtain this by being in the entertainment industry, doing a lot of work for tourism, marrying someone important etc.. But if all of that fails, no worries mate, just pay for it. And this is indeed the Malaysian way of getting away with things, just pay for it.

And I have to mention you can live as a king for no money!

FB_IMG_1502779931238.jpg
Perhenthian Islands (stunning, right!?)

IMG-20171029-WA0007.jpg
Monkey's from Batu Caves

IMG_20170726_154420.jpg The pool in the condo I lived in, I had my own room in a three bedroom apartment - the rent? Oh yeah, 150 USD...

Sort:  

Congratulations @casperbd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26