My trip to beautiful Hungary.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello again, I'm back to share the second stop on my ventures this summer - Hungary!

Hungary is a beautiful East European country that until the mid 20th century was plagued with communism. Due to them being in the Soviet Bloc, there are many lingering policies that are communist influences, and a lot of Soviet Architecture.

Personally, I disagree with communism purely because of all of the examples we have seen of it in the past, whether it be Mao, Stalin, Cuba or any communist dictatorship. To me, with communism comes censorship, unhappiness and unfortunately, death.

However, despite its rich and ugly history, the country is beautiful and looking especially at Budapest, there is so much fun to be had.

The island margit sziget was where I completed my first 10k run, with a beautiful circuit all the way around the island it is quite hard to get sick of it. The photo really doesn't do it justice.

19897477_1785637978118714_1874087161_o.jpg

If you are into history like I am, then you are in luck because there are museums pouring out of the countries ass, whether it be the House of Terror, a museum focused on the deaths caused by communism, or the statue of liberty, there are many historic landmarks to learn from. I managed to get a picture from the Statue of Liberty off of my phone but unfortunately my phone is broken and I can only get some of the photos (and this one is pretty bad)

20904198_1828491910499987_995647229_o.jpg

If you aren't so into history, the country has a huge party culture, with raves and clubs every weekend and every night in the summer, there are too many bars to explore and enjoy. Being 100% honest, I do not remember the name of the club that I went to but I know that if you ask anyone on the streets at night they will be able to recommend you a great club nearby.

Fun fact, Spider man in Hungarian is Pókember, we went to see it at a mall called Alee which was honestly a great cinema for how reasonably priced it was.

If you like hiking this is also a great place to go, the outskirts of Budapest was where I was staying and the walks were beautiful and we even climbed to the top of an old castle (Again not great quality).

20907056_1828488710500307_1351470959_o.jpg

My friend also had lovely dogs that we were allowed to walk!

20907333_1828505037165341_1589173509_o.jpg

Luckily, I stayed with my friend who has been living there for some time now so we managed to get to quite a few places that were touristy whilst still having a lot of fun as our friend group at home and gaming like we used to. It was a bit difficult living out of his tiny fridge however!

20904439_1828499493832562_1914662373_o.jpg

The trip was fantastic, I stayed for 2 weeks and barely got through any of the city. Not that I didn't experience a lot, we saw a lot, did a lot and really enjoyed seeing each other again (as they were friends from Singapore that had moved away).

I would recommend Hungary to anyone who enjoys historically rich countries and to anyone who enjoys both a good hike and a good night life.

If anyone got all the way through this then thanks a lot for reading, feel free to give a like or a follow and I will be following this up with another post tomorrow about my trip to Denmark!

Sort:  

Looks awesome, my family is from Czech not to far away! Excited to read your post about Denmark i'll be moving there for a year at the end of the month to live with my girlfriend in Aarhus!

Denmark is great! ill give you all the tips I can for cheap places to eat and have fun :) I wish you luck with your move!

Congratulations @carney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @carney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50