A Barbarian Visits Florence in Italy (looking for plunder)

in #travel7 years ago

This is not an ordinary travel story. This is a tale of a barbarian from Northern Europe who discovers the riches of other civilizations - without actually plundering them.

florence_cover2.jpg

As a rule of thumb for my journeys I'm looking out first for the biggest building in town. Generally there are the most riches to be taken seen. So after arriving in the center of Florence I went through narrow alleys directly to the big building with the red round dome.

florence-01.jpg

After arriving there I watched out for the city guards, pretending for a moment that I'm a harmless tourist. But I couldn't see any guards.

florence-02.jpg

It turned out to be a religious temple. From my previous plunderings journeys I remembered that such temples are usually filled with treasuries made of gold and silver. So I went into the massive building.

The inside of the huge dome was covered with an impressive painting.

florence-03.jpg

But I wasn't here to watch such stuff. I was looking for the riches of this town. So I searched carefully inside the building for them, but could only find the remains of a former king or priest of Florence.

florence-04.jpg

After finding nothing of any value inside, I decided to climb the dome to have an outlook for a better target for my raid visit of the town.

Halfway to the top I spotted a wall where people had made writing despite this was forbidden. So wrote on it: "Do not write on the walls!"

florence-05.jpg

Then I had to climb a narrow steep stairway. Here one can see the round brickwork of the dome on my way.

florence-06.jpg

After the demanding stairway I was finally on top and enjoyed a tremendous view over the town of Florence.

florence-07.jpg

In the middle of the scenery I spotted my next target - the Palazzo Vecchio, the town hall of Florence. I was sure, that this was the place I was looking for: the place, where the town is keeping its treasures.

florence-08.jpg

Normally I use the cover of the night to break in a castle. This time I went there at daylight - because the unsuspecting fools had leave the main door wide open. This was obviously a lucky day for me.

Inside I realized, that I was now at the right place. There were all kind of riches. Even the roof was made of gold.

florence-09.jpg

Then in one of the chambers I found finally what I was looking for - a modest table made of silver and gold. Just the one that I ever wanted.

florence-10.jpg

To my delight the morons of the town had secured this precious piece of furniture only with a pane of glass. Can you believe this? It was really my lucky day.

But then I realized that this table was way to heavy to carry it away by myself. So I decided to come back next year with some fellow barbarians to bring it home with their help show it to them.

To be continued

* * *

I you like this story,
then VOTE, RESTEEM and FOLLOW @capitalism

Please reply and give me advise where to go next for plundering

Sort:  

JAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJA, i love the paint in wall, i could feel the pain "LA VIDA DUELE" :v

The sign that forbids the writings on the wall is actually a reminder for doing it. :-D

And text written "LA VIDA DUELE" in spanish is a reminder that life is hard, but we are more hard to break.
Like "Roky Balboa" said in his movie:
"In the world not everything is rosy, it is a mean and ugly place and no matter how strong you are, life will get you on your knees and will not let you get up if you let it. Neither you nor I nor anyone else hits as hard as life. But the important thing is not the blows you give. If not what you are able to endure without lowering your arms. How much you are able to resist, without throwing the towel. This is how you win. If you know how much you are worth, demand what you deserve. Hold the blows and do not start to point him or her or anyone because you are not where you want to be. Cowards do that and you're not a coward, you're better than that."

really great shots :) cheers

Italy is a geographical expression.

-Klemens von Metternich-

enjoyed the pictures and that view of Florence wow!

It was really nice. Especially because I went there in January, when there were only a few tourists.

that's the best time to go! when there aren't as many tourist.

I will go to Rome in October, much better than going there now. Not so hot then and not so many tourists as well.

I look forward to your pictures from that trip :)

The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.

-Gilbert K. Chesterton-

Great post. Check out my profile if you have time :)

I just checked it out. Welcome to Steemit. Bienvenue.

dude ! Usually I dont read your stuff. It is way above my IQ. but this one, omg so funny! I know I told You I would never re-steem a post of you , but well this time is a once in a lifetime exectption ;)

Thanks. I wish I could travel as much as you are doing. Your posts make he hungry every time.

Thanks for the photos - a sea of positive, surprisingly quiet pictures

beautiful picture

Wow @capitalism, your pictures of Florence are just stunning, thanks a lot for sharing with Steemit community. I did enjoy your post so much. :)

Thanks. There will be some follow ups of other journeys that it did.

Lovely, I'll check it out. @capitalism

Super great brother

Nic post barbarian!!! which city is the next conquest??

The next story is about Vienna. I was there two weeks ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23