Monclaire Book Center an Awesome Used Book Store in NJ

in #travel6 years ago

Over the weekend I decided I wanted to go somewhere cool but I couldnt really figure out where I wanted to go. While I was randomly watching one of my favorite youtubers, they mentioned getting some great deals at a local used bookstore so I checked out if there was one near me and I was in luck. Not only was I in luck because there was a local used bookstore near me, but mostly because the store I was going to was the epitome of what every reader's dream bookstore is. Without further ado, Let me show some pictures and let them do the talking.

book5.jpg

On the outside the store doesnt look like much. You expect to walk into a regular small to medium sized bookstore with not much. Thats what I thought, but I couldnt have been more wrong.

book6.jpg

The second you walk through the door you are hit with a massive selection of everything piled high on shelves wall to wall. Just when you think that this could keep you occupied for hours, you start to realize this is only one of the sections and there is an entire back area, side area, and basement.

book1.JPG

In the back there are two levels with every shelf stuffed to capacity. Anything you could ever want is in this store, from art books, manga, architectural books, music books to a vinyl record section, they have it all.

book3.JPG

You make your way through these narrow hallways just filled to the brim and ready to topple over. You could spend a whole day looking at everything they have.

book2.JPG

The only downside is that many of the books were hit and miss on price. Some were cheaper while others were going for more than what you could get on amazon or ebay. However if you are looking to go out and find something youve never heard of before, its completely worth it to check out. If youre in montclair NJ its definitely worth a quick look inside

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

Wow! Please, please @olsm! :D

You want a book store? No way. Your face would be so deep in these books that I will never see you! :P

Hahahhah :D I didn't think about this in this way :D

That’s huge, I don’t think I’ve ever seen this gigantic book store. If the price is higher then someplace else you should be able to negotiate in my opinion. You are right, on the outside it looks like a regular size book store. There must be books from all over the world.
Thanks for sharing!

You might be able to negotiate I didnt try it. I picked up a few art books.

woah! that's a lot of books 😍

Yeah I wish I could show the whole place its massive!

How I wish we have a place like that here in Cebu I can really stay and chill while reading books all day 😊

I love a good used/antiquarian bookstore-- we have several of them here in our smallish town. My all-time favorite, though, is Powell's "City of Books" in Portland, OR... a full city block, four stories... a mixture of new, used, antiquarian and rare, You can pretty much get lost there and not surface for several days.

Im sure portland is a great place for that sort of thing. Actually theres a few antique stores right next to the bookstore as well, so there are options for antique buyers.

It's like a messy looking library in there! I wonder how often the store folks get people telling them that that's not what they expected the inside to look like haha

Im sure they get that all the time. I dont know how they pass fire inspections, one spark and that entire place is up in flames.

My favorite place to shop for books is Goodwill Outlet. So much fun. I find such great stuff, and such weird stuff. Like this book a guy who saw a spaceship wrote about his experience. It had his personal notes tucked into it. I actually like looking at them all laid out in a bin like that, too.

I feel like everyone has better good wills than I do. I always see people pick up great things there, but whenever I go its picked clean.

That is a HUGE bookstore! It is nice to see that in the digital age, places like this still exists. Did you pick up any good books?

I picked up a few artbooks. I wish I was more of a sci fi reader because their collection was the biggest I have ever seen.

I love the smell of a NJ book store. @calaber24p

Have nice travel brother.Your thinking is positive.it is an educative value.
Carry on your activity.
Thanks @calaber
@Resteem & follow has done.

This is educational traveling i like this, and i appreciate this writing..
i wait your next post dear..... best of luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55