Visiting the Gods! Athens-Greece

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

entrada al partenon (2).jpg

Few years ago, I had the privilege travelling to Greece with my mother, we stayed 3 days in Athens and a week in Crete (next blog).

Athens has more than 3.000 years of history, which makes it the oldest inhabited city in the world. Its main tourist attraction is the Acropolis, also known as "the sacred rock" or "high city", where the Parthenon is located.

partenon Atenas (2).jpg

ruinas del partenon (2).jpg

When I was there, several monuments and buildings of the Acropolis were under renovation, this sacred rock includes, in addition to temples, museums and libraries of the time.

When visiting the Acropolis Museum, I was Impressed to see how for the ancient Greeks sex was not seen as a taboo, it was practiced freely, so much so that they organized "bacchanalian" parties where they got drunk with wine and made huge orgies among them. I was not allowed to take pictures in the museum.

con afrodita (2).jpg
[posing with my friend Aphrodite]

Tourism is one of the sources of income of the Greeks, and I am a faithful witness that tourists are well received and cared for in that country. Another of the tourist attractions of Athens is the changing of the guard at the government palace.

cambio guardia Atenas (2).jpg

sandalias griegas (2).jpg
[They are not my size, they are too big for me!]

Athens is a mixture of ancient and modern, offers several means of transport that allow the movement through the city until late at night, and has a wide range of restaurants and nightlife for fun.

puerto de Atenas PIREO (2).jpg
[Piraeus, Athens Port]

hard rock cafe Atenas (2).jpg

Till next blog... Cheers ! Στην υγειά σας!

cheers (2).jpg

partenon by night (2).jpg

[Photos were taken with my camera and my old cell phone. The written information was taken in part from the brochures they gave us in Athens, and the other part from what I remember of what I read during the tour].

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13