Looted Egyptian Treasure and the Biggest Sculpture in Split, Croatia - MyPictureDay Submission

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

What treasure exactly? Free SBD? And whose legs are those? Is it one of Tolkien's giants? Find out more in the post!

The giant is one of the bigger creations by the famous Croatian sculptor Ivan Meštrović. I just visited his museum so stay tuned for more of his creations.

The statue represents Grgur (his first name) of Nin (the city), an early medieval bishop. A symbol of Croatian nation and statehood status. It is located in front of the one of the four gates that lead to the square shaped ancient palace. These are the Golden Doors, though I noticed only stone. And some bored Roman soldiers.


Image credits

If you rub and lick his foot you get a free wish. I desired a new edition of a craft beer in my backpack. Still waiting, but I’m giving him some slack since he gets more requests than @randowhale.


Twelve Sphinx were brought to Split from the Ancient Egypt. Only one has its head attached. Christians in the early days liked to decapitate stone sculptures that they didn’t like. At least they didn’t blow it up into million pieces.

It makes me happy and sad at the same time. The transience of culture. Egyptian religion disappeared and the Roman Polytheism took over, a few centuries later Christians started their own party. Different works of art paint one eclectic image. It is one of the most impressive ideas Split has to offer.

"πάντα χωρεῖ καὶ οὐδὲν μένει" καὶ "δὶς ἐς τὸν αὐτὸν ποταμὸν οὐκ ἂν ἐμβαίης"

"Everything changes and nothing remains still ... and ... you cannot step twice into the same stream"

-By Heraclitus, famous Greek philosopher (around 500 BC)

I did some research and found the pieces of the remaining Sphynxes.

The sphinx on the Peristyle Square in black granite.

Feel free to chip it with a beer bottle or smother it with your hugging expertise. We don’t keep it under lock and key or behind glass. This priceless piece of art dated 1450 BC is left to fend for itself and brave the weather conditions. Yup, those are someone signatures on it.

The one in front of Jupiter’s Temple - beheaded (reference with Christian above)

Same preservation attempts as with the previous one.


This is a sneak peak into Jupiter’s Temple.

Sphinxes’ heads (supposedly) fixed on public facades.

Quite easy to miss. I have no idea what they were trying to accomplish here.

Bonus art - Spninx’s butt


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Adventures and feel-good vibes in posts of: @kingsmind @exyle @kus-knee @adventureevryday @trafalgar @slowwalker @twinner @ace108 @timsaidYou can find a lot more travel posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


How to make letters so small? Ask me in chatroom! Let’s hang out!

I'm not the only one who travels. Check out @gamer00's hike to Karhunjuomalampi in Pyhätunturi, Lapland. I can't pronounce it. Can you? :)


What is your favorite Egyptian work of art?

Sort:  

Love the post but miss the beer!

Ivan Mestrovic's is indeed great sculptor!
I'd love to travel to Split one day, just because of the Sphinx’s butt! :d

The culture of Egyptian and all the work of art is really nice to see, something historic. keep steeming

I am planning to go there in 1.5 months, cool to see some pictures ;-)

Welcome to Steemit :) Nice Photography.

If you want to see more beautiul pictures of nature do follow me. @buzzbeergeek

Wow! loved it, so beautiful. Glad to see you art work. I have posted some photos of birds at my account. I request you to up vote my post and follow me as i am going to follow you and have up voted your post too. Let's help each other to build a strong road to steemit together.

Excellent post! I was at cleopatra's needle in the UK last week and the obelisk still looks in good condition. My favorite would be the Amenhotep III in the British Museum. Upvoted.


This post got a 22.49 % upvote thanks to @buzzbeergeek - Hail Eris !

Wooha!! interesting!!!

I love sphinx and pharaoh. No more beer here.

Sorry. I have a hard time getting my VP in control :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82