Following Your Heart to India

in #travel6 years ago

This is no ordinary travel article. It is not meant for those who travel often rather for those who have always wanted to travel but find an excuse not to. For those who have a desire in their hearts to change and to take a great leap, but obstacles seem to always be in the way. We all have obligations and commitments, but I’m here to show you that those things cannot be roadblocks in your life. For this life is not a place for the routine and mundane, it is an experience, an adventure, and an opportunity. Like most people I was stuck in a comfort zone: a marriage, a job, and a budget designed to pay the bills. But, my story changed when I decided to look at obstacles as merely a challenge to the life I wanted to experience. And my catalyst was true love.

I’ve always been a hopeful romantic, meaning I sought love in many places and with many faces, but no matter the heartache, I persevered. When I finally did get married, I gave up my pursuit but not for the reason you may think. My exotic dream of falling for someone that I could call my soulmate turned into a quest for relief. After so many failures, I just wanted a success, and I got it with a sweet, like-minded husband. Little did I know that my quest for my soulmate was waiting in the wind, in India. And that my need for travel, adventure, and love would all be finally met.

IMG_20170703_190957347.jpg
Across an ocean and 3 seas, over 7,000 miles away in Delhi, India, lived my other half. Such a distance and such a circumstance drew many skeptics, except for myself. To make matters worse, I met my future husband serendipitously, a month before my wedding reception for a marriage not yet 6-months old. I needed to be sure of my hunch before I dismantled what could be a happy, long marriage.

Despite the circumstances, convincing myself that indeed India was the next step in my hopeful love quest was an easy task. The signs confirming my decision plagued me: from a TV show with a wife leaving her husband to go to India and my current husband ironically saying I was never going to India to finding a rupee note in the collection bin at work. Other small signs kept up their cosmic presence over the next month. These indications were coupled with an intense connection like I’ve never felt, and I have felt many.

With the evidence accruing, it became very clear and almost a physical necessity to confront my desire to end my marriage and fly directly to India as soon as possible. Much was to be done. The first and hardest step was delivering the devastating news to my husband. Then canceling a reception that was just a week away. Followed by signing of divorce papers, agreeing on financial matters, and applying for a passport and visa. Finally leading to quitting my full-time job and vowing to never work 9 to 5 again.

This was my opportunity to stop living the lie that I told myself was truth. The job, the marriage, the scheduled life that I always shuddered at from a distance was dissolving, and I couldn’t be happier. I needed to continue this cleanse as I packed for India. Most of my possessions were donated or tossed, fitting only what I could carry in 2 backpacks. I felt like this was how my life was meant to be; not only did I find my soulmate, I also was leaving behind the materialism I despised so much. For what better way to go to the most spiritual place on Earth then to go as a renewed woman.

IMG_20170613_174726426_HDR.jpg
My tickets were booked, my copies of ID and passport, emergency numbers, and birth certificate were secure in my bag. Then as I waited at the airport, the nerves inside me were beyond shaken as this was my first time out of the United States, and I was going alone and meeting someone I’ve only met digitally. Don’t get me wrong, I was excited as ever, sure as hell, and experienced with traveling alone, but this was the Mt. Everest of spontaneity.

As I reached Dubai for my one and only transfer, my nerves slightly calmed as my biggest concern, cell phone capabilities, was reassured as I was able to talk to my awaiting mate that was just hours away. He was already at the Delhi airport waiting for me eagerly. Just a few more hours and I would meet him face-to-face for the first time. Then I could finally confirm to the skeptics that, no, I was not duped into some scam or in danger of being kidnapped. I wanted to prove that this world can perform miracles, if you let it. But, first you must let go of the fear that is always clawing at you and follow your intuition. Remove the terror that society has placed inside you and retort to your ancient past when we used our hearts to guide us not our bank accounts or our imaginary borders.

I have always believed that there should be more to this life beyond work, commitments, and money. So, my story is not just about foolish love or making rash destructive decisions. It is about following your heart, trusting the voice inside you that reveals your deepest desires, and most importantly to not be afraid especially of leaving the country or even the town you have grown accustomed to. For those who are insecure about travel or for those who remain comfortable in their homes, I say it is time to travel so that you live a life with no regrets.

If I never went to India, I would be stuck in a marriage of convenience, a job that barely pays the bills, and a life wasted. For once I got to India, the universe rewarded me with a rare opportunity to truly cherish life. My journey began after landing in Delhi and as a reunited couple, we traveled directly to the Himalayan mountains, a 15-hour bus ride through eastern India. I’ve seen mountains before, but gazing at the Himalayas free from possessions, jobs, and a life I so desperately wanted to change, left me with joy that I can’t describe in words. I was complete for the first time.

After a strenuous hike in the rain, we reached a village with several home stays and cafés. I felt at home instantly with native smiling faces and home-cooked food. We loved it so much that we stayed in the village for the next 5 months. Destiny had taken over as we somehow convinced the owner of our homestay to rent us land for our very own café. It is now in the process of being built and will be our home next season. This was truly meant to be.

IMG_20171010_173032940.jpg

After all the tough decisions, the ultimate result was a life outside of the ordinary. We have a café in the mountains and the ability to travel without perceiving obstacles as stop signs, rather hurdles to overcome.

We got married in Delhi 5 months later and are expecting our first child together. But, the best part is that we both have the same state-of-mind: to view life as a journey and to trust that journey with all our heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70