Raising Kids in a Brave New World

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

image

A lot of people ask me... Why Guatemala? The simple answer. Kids. When our first belly bean was on the way we had to decide what, where, how.
Being 2 people who met traveling and are from different countries(U.K. and U.S.).... we had a bit of a conundrum. Fairly quickly we decided we didn't want to settle in the U.S. or the U.K.
Why? Mostly the fear culture in both countries.

Stranger danger, legal educational mandates, obligatory vaccines,
social expectations of behavior and obsessive learning demands. We wanted to raise kids....not future upstanding and useful citizens of a society.

We wanted tree climbers, loud, free, open, running, jumping...fearless kids. We wanted to be away from judgment.
Guatemala provided this.

image

image

I guess others could see this and feel it reflects on them... but it has only to do with us and what we sought... we made these choices for us... how you raise your kids is yours... have at it... and fuck the judgers.... this is not a judgment of others this is a discription of our way and our choices.

I choose to be the best parent I can be.... I'm not parenting the best child I can create.

Take a split second and think about that sentence... it is a packed sentence and the meaning could be over looked if read quick.
The word parenting is a strange modern word that popped up in the 70's... it gives the impression of control... but we are merely guides on this journey of bringing up a child. Thinking we can control how our child turns out is a misconception in my view... about as silly as a gardener thinking he can control his harvest. The weather and environment controls a garden. A gardener can provide nutrient rich soil and adapt as best he can to what the environment gives... and this is about the same as we can do for our kids.
A love rich base, a constant adaption and flexibility toward a developing personality.

Basically I choose to see my role as providing good tools and not controlling behaviors. Being and giving the best me... not parenting or making the best child of me.

image

image

Kids desperately need autonomy. To take risks, and learn from the results... yet so often these days, choices are shaped, stress and fear brings out a safe and behaved child...the new polite 20th century child that gets their homework done, that studies to get a high rank on whatever test of pedagogy aptitude a given society demands of its kids, that is given an Ipad every time their behavior gets a little unruly.
The new demands and expectations on the modern child can go suck a fat one... my kids are gonna cause people to whisper behind our backs... gonna cause gasps of fear and have people telling them to come down and be careful... the kids I'm raising are gonna hurt themselves and hear me say... hmmm maybe that wasn't the best idea... maybe next time you should think twice about running backwards on an escalator.
Their choices will be theirs though and they will deal with the consequences even if we will be right there next to them dealing as well... our type of parenting is not easier.... It's not lazy parenting... it's intentional.

image

image

So when you see my kids... and you say... those kids are 'so mis-behaved'... if you were brave enough to say it to my face...
I'd respond happily. 'Thank you, it's a lot of work having such perfect wildlings!'

This is original writing and photography

Sort:  

It's been great to get to know your kiddos over the years.

haha...yeah...you are how they measure the size of everything in there world.

Great post buddy. If/when I get over to Guatemala it will be great to meet the tribe and climb trees. Jump in Lakes and generally explore. You've got it spot on with your wildlings! I grew up climbing trees etc and I turned out alright... well apart from that incident where I fell out of a tree but that was last year so... can't really blame the upbringing 😉

thanks @raj808 yeah..i hope you do make it to guatemala...and my kids will keep you safe up in those trees.
😉

This is beautiful, you and your wife have hit the nail on the head on how to be parents. The response to this post of yours is absolutely awesome and very well deserved. Parents are meant to be guides; not rulers of their offspring to be raised as conformists for governments.
Love the term , "wildlings".
Peace man,
@sultnpapper

thanks @sultnpapper .... i feel we have been through it thick and thin around these steemit parts. it has been a joy to read your posts and be part of each others development. i hold friends close in this real world... i try to be the same in the steemit world. though we only really know one another through words on a screen... i still consider you a good friend... without sounding to sappy... thank you for that!

I feel the same way, and to see this outpouring of support of this post that you produced is a great joy for me to see, you are doing it right my friend. Good friend is a true description for both of us.

Yes, kids are a great reason to move to a foreign country, I completely agree! Our kids are the main reason that we are in Panama and for many of the same reasons that you mentioned. It is hard for a lot of people to understand this viewpoint! :)

i can understand why folks would be afraid to make a leap to another country.... but after having done it...i really cant think of it any other way... i love popping into your blog by the way.
cheers @apanamamama

Yes, it really is a big leap but worth it and kids adjust so quickly! I'm glad we did it!

I knew what you were going to say after the first two sentences. Your life resonates so strongly with me man, it must be awesome to see your kids grow up with something tangible for the future. I've dreamed of raising my future kids in a connected way, and then take them on "vacation" in a European metropol concrete jungle when they turn 10 ;)

For the intermediate duration though, I've been eyeing Guatemala strongly and a guy on the floor told me last summer that it's basically the new Costa Rica.

Looks like I have a new connection if I need some more specific info when I finally touch down over there ;)

A happy new year to you and your family.

yes... consider yourself connected. feel free to ask me any questions about Guate. i am open and happy to share. haha... the new costa rica... should i be scared??
here at the lake there is many strong communities forming.. not sure the age of your kids... but kids 12 and under thrive here... my community has an affordable stiener waldorf school that goes through 12.
I have been on the ground here pushing a lake atitlan steemit community. there are 7 of us now... i'll get that doubled in the next month. later this week i am going to make a post about the growing crew of new guatemalan steemians.

Sounds amazing!
I am still in preparation mode here, but the exodus has long introduced itself to my life, I feel it coming and I will make the move once I am ready.
No worries, I won't just show up out of the blue ;) I am still not sure where this perma thing will happen for me, but I am looking for more sun in my life and I want to live with the land more time of the year than just a barefoot week in August which already does wonders for my well-being.
Cheers for your offer to help. Being a permafreak in theory will not help me out much without practical hints by practitioners, so I am grateful you guys are doing your thing and sharing your knowledge with the world so that we may get back to living with nature and off our own land.

Must be amazing to go pick your veggies and go straight into the kitchen to make a fresh salad <3

Great post, parenting is such an adventure, one that we need to embrace and one where we need to trust our kids in the way that they lead us. They are well aware of what they need to learn and how to do it. all in all they have made me a better person. There is a big lack of wild in the world today, i'm all for bringing it back. Thanks for sharing @buttcoins

it is nice to hear you feel and think in a similar way @trucklife-family above @ronnie60 mentioned a hashtag #rewilding would be nice to live in a world where that hashtag could trend...
im gonna come visit your posts.... cheers.

Fun read about child rearing. What a concept that even kids can handle the consequences of their own behavior. I bet they love Guatemala.

haha...yeah imagine that...how ground breaking...brave new world baby

A great post - I'm not a parent, though. (from UK also).

If I was - I would hope to be the same kind of parent as you !

(growing up on a farm, playing, and taking risks was a luxury I only realized I had - in retrospect)

Happy boxing day, mate

thanks @lucylin happy boxing day right back at ya. yes... its funny how in the moment...we dont see how much our parents actually give us... we realize later... i too desperately wanted out of a town that was so boring and full of sad boring people... now i know it is a magic place that i was blessed to have grown up there.

Smart point you got going on there “I choose to be the best parent I can be..I’m not parenting the best child I can”.. it makes sense and I’ m sure your so called “misbehaved” kids thx to your parenting will grow up to be amazing super confident and smart humans! They are growing up free in a world that seems to limit out abilities and imposes its rules on us every day..I dont have kids but if I had I would do exactly the same as you guys! Keep in touch! :)

thanks @lidac yeah... i will certainly keep in touch... i have been enjoying this new daily blog you have going.

Thank you as well..much appreciated! :)

Wow! What a refreshing take on raising kids without a padlock over their minds and fear in their hearts. Looks like you did some research before deciding on a move, good on you. Best wishes for a happy and FREE 2018! Upvoted!


source

thanks @evernoticethat yeah we life researched it by simply traveling there... then came back when she was pregnant...it was 1 of 4 choices in our minds...and somehow in that moment was just the right move...never looked back after.... wishing you well in 2018 too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49