Day 1 --> An Indian in European Alps + KTM 990 SMT [Year 2009]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Its been 9 long years (August 2009) since I rode across a part of the European Alps on a KTM 990 SMT motorcycle. The memories are still fresh and this was my first solo riding experience outside India. Those who live there or have been there recently, let me know if things have changed or not :)

THE BIKE
Being an auto journo, I had my share of interaction with the KTM guys at their HQ just outside Salzburg, Austria. They were very supportive about the whole ride and even went a step ahead and decided to give me the new 990 SMT for this week long trip. I couldnt have asked for me!

Day 1
Mumbai - Zurich - Salzburg - Mattighofen - mondsee – st. gilgen – strobl - postlam – rigaus – golling – bischofshofen – dienten – lend – zell am see : 195km

1.jpg
After landing from Mumbai, waiting at the Zurich airport for my connecting flight to Salzburg

2.jpg
My breakfast :D - had to keep the costs down

3.jpg
Yes - that was a nice sign of things to come

4.jpg
Finally, its time to continue

Before starting my trip, i had requested my seat to be on the right so that i could have a glimpse of where I would be riding - the Alps

5.jpg
Looking around for the Alps. Where are the Alps...?

6.jpg
There they are! Finally spotted them - yuppy!

I was feeling like an overjoyed kid when I landed in Salzburg. Like how a little one waits for his new cycle or a set of toys. This international trip was something different, something I had only thought of in dreams - the planning had taken months and I was finally here - moments away from the ride of my life.

KTM had sent Martin to pick me up from the airport and we straight away left for the KTM factory, Mattighofen, around 30min away.

A roap map is very essential for such trips - didnt have Google Maps way back in 2009 (or a proper Smartphone). This was my first purchase on the trip and instantly gave me a fair idea of 'super expensive' Europe.

Soon we were there, at the KTM factory. From the usual sport tourers to the race track RC8, I finally laid me eyes on the bike that would be my companion for the next one week - the beautiful SMT 990.

Kudos to KTM for preparing the bike with three saddle bags and a tank bag - very handy for my luggage. The map went inside the see-thru plastic cover of the tank bag.

8.jpg
All set

In 2009, I had already ridden and driven on the wrong side of the road with other riders / drivers / journos and this helped me a lot on this solo trip too. See, in India, we drive/ride on the left but its the opp in Europe. The high saddle height took a while to adjust and so did the non usage of horn, something we can't ride without in India :-D

Road tax stickers are VERY Important and I got this immediately

8.jpg
The plan was to reach the lake town of Zell Am See and soon, I was riding next to beautiful locations

9.jpg
Those lines you see in the sky are made by planes

The skies were clear and there were no signs of the hills - hence I carried on

10.jpg
Mondsee lake made me stop for some pics

I had to ride to Strobl first and from there take a right through a private toll road and visit Postlam - this is where I would get my first view of the Alps

13.jpg

We started gaining altitude and this is where I started coming across other bikers. Postlam wasnt more than a small stop for tourists, but due to its height, the views were amazing. See for yourself..

16.jpg

After taking endless pictures and using my zoom lens to the max, i carried on, coming down from Postam and taking the small road to Rigaus. Enroute, clicked some more snaps

Roads connecting these little towns and villages are often narrow but devoid of traffic. Imagine flicking the KTM from side to side here

17.jpg

At Bischofshofen, i took the 164 to Dienten and then a right to Zell Am See via Lend

I also came across my first mountain pass of the trip, though at just 553 meters above mean sea level, it was a little disappointing :D

18.jpg

Hotels in this part of the world look very very pretty

19.jpg

I continued ahead. I started feeling hungry and then came across a small resting area by the side of the road - a perfect place to grab a bite and also enjoy the bikers passing by, some of which were scraping away easily, super easily.

20.jpg

Bikers and cattle can be found in abundance in Europe :D

22.jpg

This was just the beginning of the trip and I was going crazy shooting away pictures. When they say Europe is beautiful, they mean it!

More views of the scenery around

24.jpg

Thats a sweeet house!

25.jpg

Finally after 195km, i reached Zell Am See. I had been to this lake side town on two occasions earlier. It did take me a good half hour to find a decent and cheap place for the night and finally when i found it, it was worth it.

26.jpg

39 Euros for bed and breakfast with my own balcony seemed a good bargain.

I walked to the nearby market and go myself a sandwich and a bottle of Ice tea for dinner. Also made calls back home and visited the lake

27.jpg

It started raining by the time i was back in my room - my biggest fear of the trip

The rain - view from my balcony!

30.jpg

View from the other window

31.jpg

I ate my 'dinner' [low cost one, again] sitting in the balcony, planning out the next day's ride. I finally hit the bed at 8pm local time, praying hard for a dry day ahead....

I will continue with Day 2 ahead :)

UPDATE - Day 2 is up and ready
UPDATE - Day 3 is up and ready

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35