Hello from New Delhi : Himalayan lover turned auto journalist turned hotelier!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there,

bunny4.jpg

Yet another 'oh-steemit-is-cool' newbie from India? Umm, well, not really! I have been a silent reader / observer of Steemit for a while and having gone through numerous success stories (like that of my old pal @firepower) I finally decided to take the plunge and get back to writing. The basics first:

  1. I am 34 years old (or will be soon - in Sep)
  2. Born in New Delhi (5 hours and you are in the base of the hills)
  3. Bunked school and college to quench my thirst for long rides on my little motorcycle (160cc, then 223cc)
  4. Became an auto journalist (without a journalism degree) and lived a dream life for 11 years (I hold a Guinness record too)
  5. The IT slump hit people like me last year - also gave me enough time to relax, talk to myself & spend time with my family
  6. Currently running a little hotel / home stay in the North Indian hill-station of Manali (no, I haven't done a MBA course)
    6a) That doesn't mean I have left the auto journalism industry completely!
  7. And I conduct personalized tours to Ladakh, home to the world's highest roads!

So yeah, life has been nothing short of a roller coaster ride : just like our roads in India - smooth and bumpy at the same time. Its great to be a part of this community - i am still trying to learn a lot so please excuse me if my first post isn't up to the mark.

The current experience of running a little hotel (or a home stay whatever you wanna call it) has been fantastic. From the initial re-construction work to getting all the furnishings from New Delhi (550km away) to dealing with extended winters and the snowfall, what a journey. It teaches you a lot too - plus learnings from guests, from complaints, from positive reviews, from friends and foes. This also means if any of you are ever in North India, please do drop me a message!

I promise to be a regular here - its a low season (for tourists) in the town of Manali which means I will have ample time to contribute here. UPDATE --> Here is my second post - https://steemit.com/news/@bunnypunia/india-s-largest-selling-car-costs-usd-3800-3000-pounds-why-is-it-so-popular

And here's my 3rd one - a LONG post on Ladakh, home to some of world's highest plains, lakes and passes - https://steemit.com/travel/@bunnypunia/looking-at-the-most-epic-roadtrip-ever-welcome-to-18000-ft-5500-mtrs-welcome-to-ladakh-long-post

Thanks for reading - signing off with an image of me and my white elephant during our latest Ladakh trip!

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-04 at 10.12.56 PM.jpg

Sort:  

OMG! This is fantastic! I'm thrilled that you've joined Steemit! You have tons of great travel stuff you can post here! I'm sure everyone on Steemit will love to hear your stories from traveling across India and other countries.

I'm happy to see you take the entrepreneurship route as well! I think it's an excellent thing you've done and I wish you great success in the years to come! :)

A million thanks @firepower - yes there is so much to share it and i can't wait to open the box. Soon, very soon :)

Ahh...SO you're the firepower he was referring to.

@firepower , how can i earn from steemit?you seem to ba a pro....any help will be appreciated...i followed you already

nice post
if you like my post please follow upvote comment and resteem
https://steemit.com/life/@neerajsharma007/travel-with-me-visit-shimla

A Strong women looks a challenge in the eye and gives it a wink
Cheer for world cup final for Team INDIA @aaravm and upvote post

Welcome to steem nation

Welcome to steemit: D

I wish you luck

Hello @bunnypunia, great introduction, welcome to Steemit, enjoy :-)

Welcome! Gave you a follow!

Thanks - gave it back too :)

Welcome to Steem Community @bunnypunia! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Got it. @firepower did give me a crash course yesterday on such things though

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

NEW STEEMIT BOOK FOR NEWBIES AND SEASONED STEEMERS authored by @tinashe and @feltik
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

Thanks for the tips :)

Welcome to Steem @bunnypunia I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks - seeing it now

Welcome @bunnypunia been dreaming about travelling to india. I work with people from Pune and Delhi. Have fun here!

Thank,

@steemitph

Thanks for the welcome @steemitph - i was in Pune for 6 years and loved every bit of it. And don't dream about it - make a plan and come down here - im sure we Indians will show you around properly :)

I will persuade my boss that I will benefit from a business trip and have him pay for my vacation. lol

That sounds like a plan to start with :-D

I really appreciate authentic posts like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future. Hoping we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @bunnypunia :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Love your line "Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better" - too good. Noted. And thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33