You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amateur Adventures #37: Turkey Tripping - The Wonders of Old Istanbul

in #travel7 years ago

An amazing place indeed. More great photos :)

I didn't get to go inside the blue mosque, but the spice markets were a highlight for me. Did you get to check them out?

Sort:  

Yep - but I have to say I was more impressed at the ones in Morocco... seemed less commercial plus by the time I dragged hubby through every market I could find in the middle east he ran for the hills before the word market was out of my mouth lol.

There is a lot of talk of closing off places like the Blue Mosque and even turning the Aya Sofya back into a mosque that will not allow tourists...

Turkey has a push to move away from it's secular leanings... which means sadly the rest of the world loses all that history and a chance to better understand different cultures and religions - I'm so grateful to have had the opportunity to see these places before the opportunity is no longer available

I totally agree about the shift in Turkey recently and I'm also very grateful I got to see Turkey when I did. With the referendum on presidential power earlier this year getting up the direction they are taking as a nation is a real concern.

As for the markets, yes like your husband I get dragged around by the wife and I usually try to avoid them like the plague too....but I have a soft spot for both food and spices so its the only type of market I've been excited about :)

Did you do Morocco? those spice markets are unreal!

No. Sadly I am not as well travelled as you :)

we have been very lucky I must say. If you get the chance.. the spice markets there are amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52