59 inhabitants & wheelbarrows instead of cars: The Scottish island Easdale

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes you find perfection in its purest form at a location unknown before.
 

Like a little treasure brought to you by an old friend. A very special friend that you only meet once a year, every time in a different country… first in Ecuador, then in Colombia, subsequently in Mexico and now in the land of his childhood: Scotland. On a little piece of land where his youth memories are preserved and kept alive, dancing vividly in front of his eyes while driving me down the swirly road from Mallaig to Oban. Scared to oversell the place, but unable to contain his enthusiasm to go back to where he left as a boy and now for the first time returns as a full-grown man.

I listened to Adam’s eager voice while my taste buds soaked up the flavor of ‘vinegar crisps’. As a vegan I can’t do haggis, Scotch egg or fish ‘n chips, but this masterpiece of the British ‘cuisine’ is all mine to munch on. Not that I would starve that weekend… we bought three full grocery bags of food and our only task for the next two days was to finish it all. Life can be beautiful like that.

We reached the ferry that would bring us to the island of Easdale. Let me alter the notion of ‘ferry’ to you first, as you’re probably having this image in your head of the rough jewel of the English Industrial Revolution, a giant structure designed for vehicles of all sizes and shapes crossing the seas… No, the ferry to Easdale is a tiny little boat navigated by an old man in a yellow poncho. 

You have to leave your car on the mainland, as the only vehicles permitted on the islet are wheelbarrows. For real. But that’s something the 59 inhabitants can perfectly live with. Indeed, I said 59… not 59,000, just 59.

How the hell do you end up on an island like that, besides by birth? Well, very simple. Adam’s great-uncle once randomly sailed by when someone joked there was a house for sale on Easdale. “Sold!” he shouted, and that was that. Memories were to be created. And if you wonder what he paid for this spacious bungalow with a living room, separate kitchen, bathroom and 2 bedrooms… ₤6,500. 


The man’s a legend.

Remote in all its stunningness. Surrounded by clear waters and the horizon, rich with wild blackberries impossible for any capable human to eat all (although I must admit I made a fair attempt).

There was nothing to do and therefore so much to do.

It’s an art in modern society to replace luxury for something more pure and real. Getting grounded by simply listening to your own breathing. Getting soaked up into a book amidst nature. Climbing a hill at sunset to warm yourself up with a bottle of wine while the wind brushes your hair. Letting out honest laughs with a friend while singing along the exact lyrics of the Sound of Music. Playing board games on a warm and cozy couch with a cup of tea.

The biggest event in Easdale is the yearly Stone Skimming Competition, which we were just about to miss with one week difference. But that didn’t stop us. On beautiful days like this one, a rare crystal clear sunny day in dreary Scotland, you can fill hours by working towards that perfect bounce. The still waters and perfectly shaped rocks enabling the island’s local slate industry create the perfect conditions for epic throws, Adam going home with the biggest honor.

 

And once it turns dark and the night cools you down to the bone, Easdale’s only bar opens it doors to warm you up with some freshly tapped ale and cider. You know, I’ve been to the classiest bars, like the Armani Bar in Milan to give you an example, but I would without hesitation swap it for The Puffer.

In The Puffer the beer is cold and the people are real. No pretensions. In The Puffer you can make friends by screaming “I’ll buy a pint for the first man hitting bull’s eye”, which is a safe bet, as everyone is too drunk to do so. And then it doesn’t matter if you have any clue what these cheerful friends-for-a-night are saying in their mumbling Gaelic, everyone smiles in the same language (- a wise man once said… or the internet, it was probably just the internet).

On Easdale they preserved life how it once was. Without distractions.


If I ever lose my shit I don’t need a shrink, nor a mindfulness-training, nor the strongest medication. A week on Easdale without a boat to get off will bring me back to my senses. I hope I’ll be crazy enough soon.


Until we meet.

www.budgetbucketlist.com

Sort:  

very perfect photo of my friend

With the wheelbarrows? Haha

little paradise.

It truly is, so unexpected!

I look forward to each and every post by you. In my own mind they're each a personal letter written exclusively for me.

But I'm not too sad to share. After all, the best things are worth sharing and this story is definitely that.

Ah, you make a city boy like myself want to change his stripes and give it all up for some fresh air, a simple life, a natural landscape and calm waters that go on forever.

I do write it for you too :) For other people with a strong desire to travel, curious to discover more of our beautiful world, that's the target group haha. I was really surprised by this place! I'm not sure if I could live in such a small place, but then again, I don't think I'm ready to settle down anywhere... but just to go there and to breathe, it's the perfect place for that. A little paradise away from the public!

You're blog does attract a certain audience, doesn't it? I think many of us have our eyes locked on the ground, never aware of anything. Others are always looking to the past, the way things were...

But some of us have our eyes firmly locked on the horizon. That's why I feel in you a kindred spirit.

And sometimes I definitely feel like I could use an island getaway! Even if ultimately just for a bit. Congrats on finding one ☺️.




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

Well that sounds like an amazing vacation to be honest. 59 people is about my speed. I typically try to find the spots where there are zero people, but I think I can handle 59 people :) Wheelbarrows as the main mode of transportation - that is hilarious, and also probably safer after a few rounds and a few more at the Puffer. Really lovely scenery shots but what I enjoyed most was just your writing style, very conversational and effortless but still a very well structured post. Happy to have found you tonight - followed! Cheers - Carl

Hi Carl! Thanks for commenting! I like the zero-people-spots as well haha, do you have any recommendations for me in that matter?

Hi again @budgetbucketlist, I tried to pop over to your website but got the following warning message from Firefox - most likely just a security certificate that is misconfigured but I wanted to point it out to you:

Oh thanks a lot! I don't know what happened with that. Let me double-check! Thanks a lot for pointing it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83