Cuba: Vintage cars & Architecture, Traveling back in Time

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4873k.jpg

Like most design-lovers I had Cuba at the top of my bucket list for a long time but after having many people telling me I should go NOW, because it’s changing, I couldn’t wait any longer to cross Cuba off my list.
In December 2017, I spent the entire month backpacking Cuba with some friends of mine.
If you get mesmerised by beautiful architecture and aesthetics as much as I do, Cuba with all its worn out buildings and vintage cars, Havana specifically, will be a paradise for you.
During the whole trip we stayed with local families (Casa Particular) which was a lot cheaper than staying in a hotel but most importantly, we wanted to support the livelihood of the Cuban people as much as possible. I can also suggest to eat at Paladares, privately owned restaurants, because thats where I got the most delicious food.

After staying in Havana for about a week, we left with the intention of travelling around the whole island in 3 weeks.
I picked the cities I enjoyed the most and highly recommend if you enjoy the following activities

Viñales Valley: Wandering through tobacco plantations, horse riding
Trinidad: Lots of young backpackers to get drunk with, hipster restaurants, hipster bar scene
Cayo Santa Maria: Snorkelling almost unexplored reefs, bleach-white sand
Santiago de Cuba: Caribbean and Afro-Cuban spirit, less touristy

Havana
IMG_4940K.jpg

IMG_4132k.jpg

IMG_4559k.jpg

IMG_4131k.jpg

IMG_4504k.jpg

IMG_7003k.jpg

lovely restaurant
IMG_4473k.jpg

Playas del Este
![IMG_4766k.jpg]
)

IMG_6350k.jpg

Viñales Valley

Tabacco farm
IMG_6719k.jpg

Roasting coffee beans
IMG_6930k.jpg

Buying freshly roasted coffee
IMG_6944k.jpg

IMG_6902k.jpg

IMG_6664k.jpg

Santiago de Cuba
IMG_6217k.jpg

IMG_7205k.jpg

We took a steam train ride through the sugarcane fields
IMG_5957K.jpg

IMG_6510k copyk.jpg

If you have ever wondered if you should go to Cuba, please do it!
When our time was up, we didn’t want to leave.

This is my first proper post on steemit. I just found out about it and was instantly excited. it all sounds quite revolutionary. I will post more travel photography in the next days.
I would be very kind of you to like my post and follow my account.
Have a great day

love always,
Julia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63