You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ed Deane Above the Ridge

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Beautiful piece and video! Upvoted and Followed

There is a long cultural connection between the people of Ireland and here on the island of Newfoundland, Canada. Back in the 1600-1700's it was a short hop for my ancestors to hope on a boat bound for the rich fishing grounds of Newfoundland. The majority of our population can be traced directly back to Ireland. Because of this, so can our music!!

As I listen to this beautiful piece by Ed Deane I can hear our relationship. The melodies, rhythms, subject matter of the music of Ireland and the music of Newfoundland are directly connected. I am sure he is my 32nd musical cousin :) As a fiddler like my father, I grew up learning the Irish standards along with the Newfoundland ones. I am playing a gig this weekend and I am sure half the tunes will be Irish and the other half will sound Irish ;)

Thank you for sharing this and you are all welcome to come to Newfoundland for a family reunion :)

Cheers,
buckydurddle
andrew and fiddle4.jpg

Sort:  

Ah. Thats a lovely reply buckydurddle. Thanks for the invitation. We love this guy. If you're ever over we'll direct you to the BEST gig in Ireland and you'll see him live. Thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46