10 Steps to Turn Your Travel Dreams into Reality 📖

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My Post (2).jpg

Hey Guys, this is my very first written blog post. I will usually be posting vlogs but I didn't get a chance to record one today so here is a little post with some tips I have used to reach my travel dreams. I have visited 9 countries over 4 continents and have no plan to stop anytime soon. So heres a few tips for you and me both. Enjoy :)

1/ Choose a Destination
Many times I have heard people say "I want to travel" "I want to buy a house" "I want...(blah blah blah)" without any kind of body behind that statement. Having a solid goal in mind is going to give you the fire you need to make that dream happen. Plan it out, find where you want to go and hold on to the dream. For me the next place I am going to visit is South America. Especially Costa Rica, where I can volunteer with sea turtles. I dont know when exactly I am going, I just know that I am.

2/ Open a Seperate Savings Account
I have had only one account in the past and have told myself "I am saving X amount this week" and it never happens. It is so easily spent if not differentiated. Open an account dedicated for savings and watch the figure grow. It will make you more motivated to save.

3/ Set Up an Automatic Payment
Following off the last point, automate the process and after a few weeks you wont even notice or miss the money. Set it and forget about it. You will be blown away how much you can actually save.

4/ Set a Goal
So you now know where you're going, now is the time to really give to a direction as to how and when. Whether you want X amount saved before you go, to attend a certain event or want to be there in X amount of months. Pick your goal/s and work backwards. Is it achieveable in the timeframe? if not might have to rework some things. Better to figure it out now and adjust, than be broke halfway through your trip.

5/ Keep the Change
Actually though. Keep any leftover change you have for the day in a jar or piggybank. While its probably not going to make you a millionaire, you would be surprised how much a few dollars here and there adds up.

6/ Cut Down on the Unnessecary
You should be super motivated by this stage, you will know where and when (roughly) you're going to be travelling. Cutting back wont really feel like missing out, just saving for something bigger. Look through your bank statements and you will find numerous ways to cut back. Memberships? Food? Coffee? Entertainment? Shopping? Events? Check it out and improvise. Change up your habits and save thousands.

7/ Pick up More Hours/ Another Job
By cutting down on unnessecary items it might actually free up some time to work more. Even working a couple hours more each week is hundreds or thousands over a year. The more money you make the faster you will reach your goals.

8/ Book Your Flights
This step is huge and exciting! You have implemented most of the previous points and have saved up a fair bit of cash by now. Lets set these dreams into concrete. You don't need to have everything planned out. Half of the things you plan when travelling do not go the way you planned anyway, go with the flow. Just know you are going and it will give you all the motivation you need to reach your goals. I remember pulling crazy hours in the few months before my trip to Asia because it was do or die. Its amazing how fast you make things happen when theres an impending deadline.

9/ Tell Your Friends and Family
If you haven't driven them crazy already talking about your trip nows the time. haha. You never know who might join you along the way. People will be excited for you and get you pumped for your upcoming trip. More motivation! Woo hoo!

10/ Sell Your Things
If you're stuggling to meet your goals or just want a bit of extra spending money, sell some stuff! Backpacking might turn you into a minimalist after all. Old clothes, jewelry, electronics, books and heaps of other things. Get rid of it if you haven't used it in a while.

Okay Guys! Thanks so much for reading this post. I really appreciate it.

I hope this has given you some valuable tips...now....go plan that trip!

Cheers -Beth

Sort:  

Congratulations @bucketlistbeth! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62