What I've learned from living in Vietnam? A developing country.

in #travel7 years ago

In the month of May, I spent most of the month in Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City), Vietnam. Being born and raised in Vancouver, Canada; I often took things for granted just like any other privileged person born in a first world country.

After this perspective change - I found myself reverting back to my trip - thinking how grateful I should be and all the things I do complain about - I shouldn't have. Even though I didn't grow up the most 'well-off' it was definitely more 'well-off' in comparison if I were to live in Vietnam.

I documented my entire trip and my thoughts and feelings being an overseas Asian-Canadian returning home as well as
discover, and explore a part of myself that connected certain pieces of my life together.

3 Things:

  1. Live life day-to-day.
    Don't focus on the long term although it's good to have goals and accomplish them also be present.

  2. Stop complaining.
    You know how lucky you are to have the ability to chose a job you want? You know how lucky you have it to have a
    house with running water and food to eat?

  3. Cherish your family.
    People get old, and your family is no exception. No matter they did to you, or you don't have a strong relationship - it's never too late to visit them because they won't be there forever.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59226.54
ETH 2603.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42