Australia #4 - Northern Beaches - New South Wales

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The Northern Beaches are not that far north - so if you were thinking Gold Coast or Sunshine Coast you will have to wait until I post Australia #37 or so! They are simply north of Sydney, on a short stretch of coast with interesting places to visit like Dee Why and North Curl Curl.

IMG_7456.JPG

Starting our day at North Head.

I mentioned in my first Australian roadtrip post about Manly that friends recommended we stay there. They are sister and brother-in-law to one of our dearest friends, and have lived in Sydney for many years. I did a lot of research over two years to plan our 3 month Tahiti-Australia-New Zealand trip, getting great advice from two couples who had traveled to Oz and NZ a few times, but also checking the internet and old-school guidebooks.

IMG_7453.JPG

Entrance to Sydney Harbour seen from North Head.

When I was getting near the end of my research there were three simple questions remaining about Oz - which car rental agencies, hotel chains, and airlines to use or to stay away from? So I emailed our Sydney connection the questions, and in response got 12 pages of detailed notes about Australia and Sydney! Most of this confirmed my research but there were many new nuggets that helped me confirm my plan. And more importantly, these fine people offered to meet us one day and show us parts of the Sydney area they love that otherwise we wouldn't have seen!

IMG_7459.JPG

North Curl Curl - in many communities swimming pools are built on the beaches to keep swimmers in, and little creatures (bluebottle jellyfish) and large ones (sharks) out! But the surfers go out anyway!

IMG_7471.JPG

Dee Why Beach - one of our friends' favourite spots!

IMG_7487.JPG

Pittwater, another favourite spot; a well-protected anchorage...

IMG_7473.JPG

and a good place for lunch in Bayview - my first soft-shell crab, but not my last!

IMG_7492.JPG

Back out to the coast, not sure where!

Thanks to our friends for a wonderful day!

Join me for my next post - we fly to Perth on the west coast!

Thanks to @benfenson for watching over my Oz posts!

!steemitworldmap -33.659256 lat 151.297426 long Northern Beaches New South Wales Australia d3scr

Sort:  

I find the North Curl Curl pool idea fantastic, and the view too... and love the last shot with the waves sweeping in! Am enjoying the tour immensely so far... ;) - ohhh yes, and the rock cliffs in the first is breathtaking! I don't eat crab, or I'd would wanting some here now too! Lol...

Worked great, adding to cluster marker at Sydney!

Is author link supposed to go right to the location, or just centre on map?

All links currently center on the map!
For the post link I should probably change it to center on the post, will add it to the list!

That would work better I think. Off for the weekend so probably not much posting and no testing for you - enjoy your weekend if you can get away from your studies!

fantastic post. we love australia and the northern beaches. curl curl is such a good surf spot. have a look on our Blog, its mostly in German but some posts in English as well. upvote

Already following, have seen some of your great work!

If you are in Germany you should check out my Portugal posts, see a lot of Germans there. For now I'm focusing on Oz and NZ.

How is house-sitting? Wife and I are contemplating this but some family concerns are tying us down right now - maybe next year.

I just realized you already following. Thanks. My Brother has been there recently, in Lisbon and the Algarve. we will definitely go there in the future. Going to Bali next week for about 2 month and then hopefully the next stop is Australia. we hold a work and travel visa for Canada which will expire next year in may so we probably will be there by mid of next year.

About Housesitting, I think for slow and long term travelers its just perfect, especially if you can find a sit for more than just a few days. we´re currently housesitting in stuttgart Germany and it saved so much money.

Thanks for feedback on house-sit, looks promising for us. You are experienced travelers obviously but any advice you need for Oz or Canada let me know!

I think we need lots of advice for Canada if we decide to go next year. thanks :)

if you consider to sign up for either trusted house sitters or housecarers we would really appreciate if you use our link below.

Trusted Housesitters
http://bit.ly/2t6qbw2

Housecarers
http://bit.ly/2s2c8aO

Already signed up for Trusted Housesitters but not the other one - if we do I will use your link. Canada is a big country so you need to be selective where you go, too much to see it all. If you are coming from Oz then Vancouver is a good place to start - but you may never leave!

thanks for the advice. I was thinking of Vancouver as well.

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

Great photos! I love crab, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55