When match boxes were business cards

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


What an interesting snapshot of the 1960's, captured in the form of matchbox marketing. Of course most of these herald from a different era, when smoking was a social norm and butane lighters had not yet entered the scene. 

I stumbled upon a bag full of match boxes at a flea market in Stanthorpe, Australia.  It was fascinating rummaging through the collection. It is amazing how many different types of businesses adopted this marketing strategy; restaurants, hotels, mechanics, dry cleaners, tailors, locksmiths, appliance stores, shoe stores, car dealers, construction companies and entertainment venues. Most of the match boxes are Australian but in the mix is ones from USA, Kenya, Singapore, New Zealand, China, Indonesia, to name but a few. 

I put the matchboxes out in my Recycled Gallery shop. Almost every box I sold was to an international traveller visiting Australia. I asked my customers why they wanted one and interestingly it was always the same reply. A little gift to send home to family as a sort of travel souvenir. 




Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very cool and I forgot how readily available matchbooks were at most restaurants...up until the early 90s or so. The Daily 747s is super neat.

I can see why people collected them. I like seeing the boxes that have a few matches missing.

I used to collect matchbooks too until back a few years ago when smoking bans started. Now there hard to find. I like your post!

Such a collectable item but yes I imagine now they are not so common. I guess this bag I bought was someone else's old collection. I wonder if they had personally travelled to each destination.

A lot of matchbooks I collected and friends also collected for me when they went to a few places. I still have all mine. I had them in a big glass fish bowl for a long time. People always liked to look threw them. Most all mine are from U.S. And a few from other countries. I wish I would have thought to post mine.

I think you should post yours @woodsyde. A personal collection is so much more interesting.

Those are great pictures! I love everything old. STEEM on :p

I used to collect match folders just like these. They were very common at one time, but something of a fire hazard I suppose. Later I switched to matchbox labels. Though everything got thrown out shortly after I got married. No space to keep such things.

.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating voluntary BOINC computations for science...


It is interesting. I like the story.

omg! my brother has/had a collection of these ! so many memories :D thanks !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36