Top 5 Things From The 90s That Are No Longer Socially Cool

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

The 90s were a wonderful, carefree time before cellphones and the internet ruled the world. Check out my top 5 things that people did back then that are no longer considered cool today!

1. ARRIVING AT SOMEONE’S HOUSE UNANNOUNCED!

Showing up to someon’s house just to see if they are home used to be pretty much normal behavior. Now, an unforeseen knock at the door has us slowly peeping out of the window like a potential hatchet murder victim in some cheesy horror flick. These days a text in advance is considered appropriate.

2. PHONE NUMBERS

Can you recite you mother’s phone number? What about your spouse’s? However, I bet you have no problem digging in the memory bank for your childhood best friends number. Heck, I can still spew out several phone numbers from 30 years ago. Now, if you tell someone you have their number memorized, you look like a creepy stalker. What kind of psychopath memorizes people’s numbers?

3. MAKING PLANS

Remember the days when you used to be able to make plans with someone multiple days in advance and then could just show up without having to confirm that your plans are still on? You didn’t even have to talk about your plans again in the days in between. Such Freedom!

4. PUSHING PEOPLE INTO POOLS

Remember when it was okay to push people into pools? Back when no one had cell phones, it was funny. Try that stuff nowadays and you’re likely to owe that person $600 bucks. Hopefully it won’t be too long before most of us have waterproof phones and the golden era of pushing people into pools will return.

5. BEING UNREACHABLE

It was pretty darn nice being without a phone 24/7. Remember when you’d leave your house and just be unreachable. You could go hours without speaking to anyone and no one would think you died. I remember waking up as a kid on those awesome summer days, grabbing a piece of toast for breakfast, and disappearing into the neighborhood for the day. “Be home before the street lights come on,” my mother would scream as I sped off on my bike! Those were the good ol’ days.

If you're old enough, I would love to hear some of your thoughts! Do you have one that I left out?

While you're at it, check out The SteemBus Project at #steembus

Sort:  

I especially agree on #3. It is really hard to make plans with anyone today. Like they would be afraid something much more important could happen at that certain time. It is a shame. Or maybe just time for us to adapt? ;)

I am from the 90s and I am no longer socially cool.

My parents (they are seniors) recently went on a small trip and they don't have a cell phone. I was so freaked out that i couldn't contact them on demand. It made me realize how dependent I've become on being able to instantly reach loved ones.

There is a growing trend away from smart phone to 'dumb' phones. Maybe trying to recapture the freedom we had in the 90's when your Nokia would only make calls!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43