🇫🇷🇬🇷 34 Hours to Europe! Paris & Athens

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I am traveling to Paris, France tomorrow. It is hardly imaginable that after many months, this trip has finally arrived! It will be my first foray to Europe in this lifetime.

My youngest won this trip last year. She was playing around online, looking for a car to buy, when she ran across a sweepstakes for a vehicle. While she didn't win a car, she did win the second Grand Prize: a trip for two to Europe. And she's taking her Dad...

paris-2869657__480.jpg

I will be leaving Boston tomorrow night and arriving in Paris Sunday morning. We will have the entire day to reunite after a six month absence from each other. (She now lives in France.) Along with her new husband, we'll walk the streets of Paris together in what is sure to be a surreal experience for both of us.

acropolis-2026991__480.png

Monday morning we'll be boarding a flight to Athens, Greece. Four days and three nights of exploring this ancient city on the Aegean. While we'll be sure to take in the main tourist sites, I'm looking forward to breathing in the ocean air and tasting the food, wine, and culture.

We'll return to Paris on Thursday and have two more days in the City of Light. I am most excited to see all of the places that my daughter frequented while living in Paris. Her school, her favorite restaurants, her old apartment. Saturday evening I'll return to Boston.

I expect to be quite busy taking photographs, writing blog posts, and capturing every moment of my trip for Steemit. I hope that you'll check in frequently to share this journey with me. I expect that my curation of your posts may suffer while I'm away, but be assured that I'll be back at upon my return home.

That's all for now, friends. If you have any specific recommendations for restaurants or pubs, cigar bars or other places of interest, in ether Paris or Athens, please leave them in the comments below.

Cheers!

Steemlogo.png

Images courtesy of pixabay.com
Sort:  

Wow what a cool prize to win. This will be an awesome experience.
As a fan of good food I can recommend to avoid the big restaurants close to famous places. Try small local bars/bistros who serve tartiflette, canard,cheese plates. Last year I was in Paris and as a food lover I did my research. Here are 3 restaurants I really liked because of the combination of quality, price and atmosphere.

https://www.tripadvisor.be/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d3192219-Reviews-La_Petite_Rose_des_Sables-Paris_Ile_de_France.html
Amazing experience, great owners and only 8-10 places so great atmosphere. Food is good but not the best but it's the total package and the kindness that makes the difference here. Best to make a reservation.

https://www.tripadvisor.be/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d10201111-Reviews-Pedzouille-Paris_Ile_de_France.html
A cosy place with a cool interior. Each day 2 different main dishes but good quality and typical French. If you like cheese, you really have to take some flamed camembert.

https://www.tripadvisor.be/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d4228364-Reviews-Les_Climats-Paris_Ile_de_France.html
Top top quality, they have a star and it's well deserved. Of course this is not cheap :-p. Not everyone wants to pay this for food.

Never been in Athens but visited some Greek Island. Here are some foods you need to try. Dolmadakia, Mousaka, Gyros, Keftethes and different kind of sweets.

Enjoy your trip and have a safe flight. I'm looking forward to your posts!

Thank you so much! This is terrific!!

Wow what a sweepstakes to win, and even cooler that she's bring Pop on the trip! Enjoy it, even though I've yet to go to Paris I'm sure it'll be wonderful!

Awesome man! I feel like I never know anyone who actually wins those sweepstakes, haha. Good for her and even better she's taking you. Have fun sir!

Enjoy the trip and the family time !
I'm looking forward to the report.

And she's taking her Dad...

I can only imagine how happy (and proud) you are right now. Enjoy your European adventure!

What a fantastic opportunity. Have an amazing time with your daughter in Paris. I’m sure it will be one of the happiest times of your life.

I’m very jealous. I’d love to see Paris. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51