Sights and Tastes of Hội An

in #travel7 years ago

Hội An, Vietnam

Our view above the Thu Bồn River. We see many fishermen and tour guides pass under this narrow entrance into the Ancient City.

S22A0002-Edit.jpg
Navigating the Thu Bồn River

For $14/night you can enjoy an incredible stay at this Riverside hotel, literally steps away from the Ancient Town in Hội An. We loved this city so much! There is so much character in every building and the food (as always) was amazing.

S22A9805.jpg
An Hoi Hotel

Cao lầu is a unique local dish found only in Hội An, made with noodles, pork, fresh vegetables, and croutons. While the origin of Cao lầu noodles has been debated (Japanese/Chinese), this meal of the common worker will always have my heart. I will make my best attempt to recreate it when I get back, but I have a strong feeling the noodles will be impossible to get just right.

S22A9814.jpg
Cao Lầufrom Morning Glory Restaurant

Another delicious dish from the Morning Glory Restaurant in the Ancient Town of Hội An. These steamed delights are simply made with shrimp and wrapped in rice paper. Soooo tasty!

S22A9807.jpg
White Rose from Morning Glory Restaurant

For a strong and powerful pick-me-up, get your hands an a Vietnamese Coffee. Introduced by the French colonists, the Vietnamese have taken this tradition and made it their own.
CAUTION: Not suitable for those with a heart condition

S22A9830.jpg
Vietnamese Drip Coffee

These hand-made lanterns, famous in Hội An, are sprinkled throughout the ancient town and surrounding areas. They must be built to last too, cause we know for a fact this region has its fair share of rain showers.

S22A9911.jpg
Lantern Light

If you're​ in Hoi An's Ancient Town in the middle of a sporadic rain shower, find your way into Dive Bar. Awesome music and a great atmosphere.

S22A9832.jpg
A Divers Dive

I hope you enjoyed a part of Hội An from my perspective. Many more images to come in the future!

Bradford Tennyson
Travel Photographer

All photographs were shot and edited by me. Please feel free to share them, but I would appreciate the credit if you do! I'm pretty new to Steemit, but I'm liking the community already. Still have plenty to learn so feel free to reach out to me if you want!

Sort:  
Loading...

Great post! Love the photos! Especially the first one of the boat. Loved the composition!

We went to Hoi An recently and made a video: https://steemit.com/hoian/@avinasha/hoi-an-where-time-stood-still

Do watch! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86