Our First Day in Vietnam and...SCAMMED!

in #travel7 years ago

After many many hours of traveling, we finally made it to Destination #1: Hanoi, Vietnam!

Upon entering the country, we were surprised to find out that our pre-purchased visas were no longer valid. As Travel Codex puts it, “for those who traveled to Vietnam during that unfortunate time, they had to pay $135 for a one year, multiple-entry visa stamp.” $270 we didn’t plan on spending, but at least we’re in a taxi and on our way to our hotel...

This was not the scam.

We are eventually immersed in what can only be described as a cluster-fuck of motorcycles, cars, buses, vans, bikes, scooters, and people! As first it seemed like pure chaos, but after a few moments, a beautiful symphony arose and I was mesmerized by the self-governing efficiency of the masses.

S22A8877-Edit.jpg
Busy streets of Hanoi, Vietnam

Soon we're smack dab in the middle of Hanoi's Old Quarter and at our beautiful hotel, Essence d'Orient Hotel & Spa. And the staff, don't even get me started on the staff...these were some of the most helpful, kind people we've ever met!

S22A8879.jpg
That's my lovely wife, Francesca, waiting in the lobby

Once we got our room, we took much needed showers and a quick nap, then headed down to walk the streets of Vietnam for the first time. Our usual m.o. when traveling foreign lands is to walk and get lost. After an hour or so, we usually have our bearings. Hanoi was no different, the old quarter is comprised of a grid crowded streets lined with delicious eateries, bars, and shops...all easily navigable by foot or cyclo.

S22A8967.jpg
Late afternoon in Hanoi's Old Quarter

We eventually decide to check out the lake and find something to eat. Crossing the busy streets of Vietnam is not for the hesitant. You have to walk a straight predictable line. They say if your intimidated by the traffic, just close your eyes and go, all will work itself out on the journey across the road (please don't do this).

S22A8978.jpg
A Man and His Bike

Crossing the street we were suddenly stopped by this young man who apparently repaired shoes for a living. He proceeded to clean Francesca's fairly new Birkenstock in the middle of the street. Before I knew it, we were learning his life story while he super-glued cuttings of a "high performance tire from Thailand" onto her sandals.

S22A8895.jpg
The Implications

Wielding a fairly sizable knife he carved the rubber to perfectly fit the bottom of her trusty Birk. Before the situation continued, I asked how much this was going to cost. 900 000 VND the young man says (That's nearly $40 USD)!! PER SANDAL!!! To put that into perspective, a custom tailored dress shirt in Vietnam is around 300 000 VND. We were getting scammed.

I quickly asked him to stop as we did not have enough money to cover both sandals. Still holding the knife, he says we can go to an ATM and withdraw the remaining funds. After a bit of back and forth, we walked out of there with a little bit of rubber and a lot less dong...

But the day was not over.

We stayed positive, pushed forward, and ate some delicious Phở! Then found our way to Hoàn Kiếm Lake.

S22A8912.jpg
Banyan Shade Along the Lake

Making our way to the Temple of the Jade Mountain on an island within the lake.

S22A8936.jpg
Walls of the Temple

We then continue to have a wonderful time exploring the rest of the city and eating amazing food along the way!

S22A8941.jpg
A man talking to his friends on the street

Recharged when we needed to.

S22A8961.jpg
Vietnamese Coffee!!!

And ended the night with coffee born out of rodent poop, it was pretty good!

S22A9014.jpg
Weasel shit coffee

We may have spent way more than we budgeted for our first day in Vietnam, but I would still put this in the win column. Despite two hiccups, we had such a great time in Hanoi and met some really amazing people along the way.

Please learn from our mistakes, but if they do happen to you, don't let it ruin your day. Enjoy every moment you are there because it really is a beautiful city!

Bradford Tennyson
Travel Photographer

This is my first post here on Steemit and my first time travel-writing in general. I hope you enjoyed the story and images, more to come. Let me know if you have any questions about our trip!

Sort:  

Great photos! Gonna give you a follow and keep up with your travels!

I know the feeling of getting scammed while abroad, it's a little disheartening, but you live and learn!

Thanks! Yeah it definitely sucks, but such an easy turn around with the right mindset and increased awareness moving forward.

Exactly. Happened to me my first time in Europe, people would come offer "help" buying tickets and then surround you and demand money. That's when I realized never tell them I speak english haha.

Haha I'll have to give that a try sometime.

Hola! Amazing snapshots, please show more!

I'll definitely be posting more photos. I'm still trying to figure this whole Steemit platform out right now :)

We had plenty of bia hoi, more than I'm proud to admit :)

Haha, you should do a post about Bia Hoi if it causes you nasty toilet rounds. But well, stay healthy throughout your trip.

nice travel photos i followed and resteem

Hi man! I'm an OCD curator and I found your post very interesting. So I want to nominate it to our daily compilation. This might get you more attention to your blog and maybe some steem (through extra votes you'll get) to replace your lost dongs :)


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hi @elteamgordo! I would love it if you shared my story! I'm glad this sparked your interest!

Brad

Thanks! I'll nominate you now: I'll let you know if your post was selected.

Congratulations @bradfordtennyson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Have a great trip and be more careful. Cheers :)

Your photo make me want to fly back home asap..
I'm so sorry that you guys got scammed.. sadly this ugly stuff is pretty common on the street.. but I'm so glad that you still gave Hanoi a chance to make it up for you... staying positive is the key to enjoy our journey, isn't it?
Keep it up, Brad!

I want to go back too! Staying positive seems to be the key in life haha.

The brilliant part of the scam is that it used an intimidation tool (the knife) as part of it! I always have to work at being more assertive at telling people no - it's frustrating because some people genuinely just want to help.

That's the balance I'm trying to find too. I don't want to develop a negative bias for everyone, but I need to be more aware of my situation at the same time.

I can see your account is somewhat new
so I thought I'd send my late regards.

There is an upvote for you and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
you will get many upvote your post.
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those first upvotes so my advice would be to give steemfollower.com a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use.go to--> steemfollower.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41