You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Japan - A Visit to the Kyoto Concert Hall

in #travel6 years ago

Nice post. The pictures are really great! We have a building near me that is kind of similar to this. I actually see a lot of Mies in this building. Any idea if the architect was influence by him? Great post!

Sort:  

That's an interesting topic @bozz. I read an article quite a few years back about the 'red' and 'white' categories of architecture found in Japan (titled by architect Terunobu Fujimori). He basically split the architects in to two sides and said 'white' was more like Mies style, or International Style. So in this way I guess this architect is more 'red' in style, but actually I found this building a real crossover between the two. Worth reading this article if you're interested. Provides a bit more background - http://www.architectmagazine.com/technology/learning-from-the-red-and-white-schools-of-japanese-architecture_o

Thanks for the article, I will check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39