You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Japan Diaries: hanging out with the ghosts of GeGeGe no Kitaro

in #travel8 years ago

Looks like a great exhibit! I've never read those comics, but I've heard of them. I read your introduction posts this morning. I caught word of them through Graham Smith's newsletter. I'm not sure if the comment section is the best place to ask, but I'm curious to hear how your daughter's English is and how you and your wife have approached teaching her English. I too live in Japan and am always curious to hear how foreigners in Japan use language in their home and to hear how much their children learn how to speak their native language.

I also look forward to hearing more about your experience with and knowledge of cryptocurrencies.

Sort:  

Glad you are enjoying my posts so far! At home we speak English all the time so my daughter is immersed in it and used to speaking it with us. Then at school she gets the Japanese language exposure. We always watch movies in English with the subtitles on, and my daughter picks up natural expressions / idioms from watching English YouTube & playing my video games. Her grammar isn't the best, and her reading level is a bit below American kids of the same age, but I suppose that's to be expected given the circumstances. She's always asking me how to spell new words so she can look stuff up on the Internet, so that's a good sign that she's interested & wanting to improve her language skills.

I just wish I could help her more with her homework. Whenever she shows me her school books and says "Daddy I don't know what this says", all I can do is wave my hands helplessly and say "go ask Mommy".

Thanks for the reply, and sorry about my delayed response. I wasn't online for a few days. I've also found that watching movies/videos in English is a great way for kids to pick up on all kinds of language.

I haven't had to deal with the homework problem yet. I guess I should put that on my list of things to expect:)

No worries, I know how busy life can be. And yep, there's all sorts of fun milestones to look forward to! Like shopping for your kid's first ridiculously overpriced school backpack... ;-)

I'll start saving my Steem Dollars now. Maybe in three years I'll have enough to buy one:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31