Mystery Hill, Blowing Rock, North Carolina

in #travel7 years ago

mystery hill.jpg
No I am not tilting on purpose, but Mystery Hill is like some awesome Matrix gravitational pull! As you get closer to the door of the room, you can feel the gravitational pull, and it throws your equilibrium off. I felt almost like I was drunk, and had not drank an ounce of alcohol.

Signs in the room said to line up the camera with the door to show how much the gravitational pull tilts a person, so I did that when taking a picture of my friend in the picture below.
mystery hill1.jpg

The tour guide showed us how water and a ball will travel up hill in this house. Watch the videos below:


Below is a photo of the room. In this photo, you cannot tell, but the room is on an incline, and it declines closer towards the wall. This may explain some of the "mystery," but I do not know how it explains the gravitational pull. It really feels like you cannot walk in that room without staggering and holding onto the rails.
mystery hill 4.jpg

Mystery Hill had some other cool optical illusions that I captured a couple photos of. Below, whoever is standing on the left side of the slab of stone always looks taller. My friend is definitely a few inches taller than me in real life. (That is why I do not look a lot taller when she is on the right side)
mystery hill 3.jpg

mystery hill2.jpg

Here is my friend levitating!
mystery hill 5.jpg

It cost $9 to enter, and the ticket included a peek of a home of the family who donated the land for Appalachian State University, and also a peek of a very large collection of Native American arrow heads. I did not get pictures of the family home, but I did take one of the arrow head collection below.
mystery hill 6.jpg

Overall, I feel like it was $9 well spent. I really enjoyed Mystery Hill. It is a great place to take children. It's not a really long stopping point, but it's a great place to go if you are heading towards Blowing Rock. The town of Blowing Rock is quaint and has cute shops. We didn't actually go and see Blowing Rock, which is supposed to be like a cliff with a legend and a beautiful view. It was way too foggy, for us to really get to see much anyways. That is one caution I would urge visitors to be aware of, that fog can get thick in this area at times. Nevertheless, I will always urge those outside of North Carolina, to come visit my beautiful state!

Sort:  

Wow!! Some of those pictures are freaky-deaky. When I holidayed to the US a few years back we went to a hill that rolled the car backwards! Strange optical illusion lol.

We actually have a hill nearby that does that. It is called gravity hill. Nothing like a little mystery!?!

Oh, you aren't in Pennsylvania perchance? Because that sounds like the exact hill we visited! Haha :)

No lol, I'm in North Carolina. However, there are a few hills like that with a great ghost story (if not different versions). I think here in NC we have more than one lol.

Aha! Quite common place to have weird hills then :)

Must be, anything to stir up a good legend lol.

Wow! Sounds like a place I want to visit soon. We live sort of nearby and that price isn't bad at all!!

It was pretty cool. We went up to Hawksnest to go snow tubing which isn't far from there. I made an earlier post about the snow tubing trip. You should check that post out. Where do you live?

@originalworks please verify my post as an original

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bosssarah to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Looks like it was a fun place to visit!

It was! Everyone kept telling me it was cheesy, but I really liked it a lot. I must be a cheesy person because I had a blast.

Life is better with just the right amount (different for everyone) of cheese. :)

Exactly! At least I was not alone, the friend I went with really enjoyed it too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47