Memorial Day has me Reminiscing on Arlington Cemetery Trip

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

As I am sitting here on Memorial Day, thinking about all the soldiers who fought and died to serve my country, I cannot help, but think about a trip that I took to see Arlington Cemetery in March. Once you step into the gates of Arlington Cemetery, you are surrounded by a sea of graves.

ac2.jpg

ac3.jpg

I had no idea how large the cemetery was until I was actually there. There were more graves than my eyes could see staring out into the horizon. It was in that moment that I felt an enormous pull at my heart and it sunk in that these were all people who risked their lives for my freedoms. It was truly moving.

One thing I loved about the D.C./Arlington area was the placement of all of the memorials. You can tell someone with an artistic mind really thought it through on how to set up the memorials. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier sat on a hill overlooking the city of Washington D.C. in the background.

ac.jpg

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is a tribute to soldiers who died in combat, but their remains could not be identified.

ac5.jpg

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is right outside of the Memorial Amphitheater, which is like an architectural dream, it's so beautifully built.

ac6.jpg

ac4.jpg

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier has a Changing of the Guard service that onlookers can watch. We caught it when they were doing their Wreath Laying ceremony. It appeared that family members were called forward during this ceremony to honor a lost loved one. It was also a very moving and emotional experience. I refrained from taking photos of the family members out of respect that this was a special moment for them.

ac1.jpg

ac7.jpg

I am very glad I had the opportunity to visit Arlington Cemetery, so that days like today when Americans are celebrating the Memorial Day holiday, I can think back to the way I felt when I entered into Arlington Cemetery and really appreciate those who have lost their lives. Trips and Vacations do not always have to be about fun, but for me, I love when it is a learning experience, so that I can appreciate things outside of my everyday life.

(To add a piece of me, here is a photo of my husband and I waiting on the trolley that took us through the cemetery)

ac9.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @bosssarah, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for stopping by to read my post!

It was many years ago I visited Arlington but i still remember so strongly how emotional a visit it was

Such an apt post for today

Lest we forget

Thank you for your comment! I would recommend every American to go at least once in their lives. It's a humbling experience.

OHh yes Humbling is such a good word for the experience and yes I think everyone should experience it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65