My favorite one day hike was in New Zealand - The mesmerizing Tongariro Alpine Crossing!

in #travel8 years ago

A couple of years ago I travelled around the world with my girlfriend. We both like to hike and one of our favorite places were in New Zealand, the Tongariro alpine crossing. The hike was about 20 km surrounding volcanos with constantly emitting steam and sulphur dioxide gas into the air , lakes and pools that were deeply coloured by the volcanic minerals dissolved in them. There were also some areas that featured large springs emitting near-boiling water.

It was such a beautiful place and I recommend it for everyone if you ever happen to travel there! Here are some pics from the incredible place! Enjoy!



















I hope you liked the pics! Thanks!

Sort:  

wow! Nice photos! Here I thought NZ was full of grass and sheep only. :D

The red on that mountain was pretty cool! How does it become like that?:O

yup most people think the same i think,lol

Thanks! Haha, well there are also a lot of grass and sheep! :D..Good question, but I really don't know! Maybe somebody else can answer that?!

Sulfur compounds from volcanic emissions cause the red colour @acidyo

Cool! Thanks :)

Great photos. Crazy place, looks like the photos are from earth's early days.

Wow, posting on steemit just payed for your trip!

This is a very beautiful and cool!!! I also go there.

Great pics i use to ski there every winter, it is only about 1hr from where i lived. It has some nice extreme runs.

good travel @borran !
nice pictures, as I would have liked in your place 8]

Wow! Really nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83