Hike in the surroundings of Mount Cook, New Zealand

in #travel7 years ago

I must say that this was one of my favorite hikes in New Zealand. If I remember correctly, the name of the trail is Hooker Valley Track. I love mountains and here you could enjoy Mount Cook in the background almost trough the whole hike! Mount Cook is the highest mountain in New Zealand listed as 3,724 metres (12,218 feet).
Unfortunately since the early 20th century, about 80 people have died attempting to climb the mountain, making it New Zealand's deadliest peak.

At the beginning of the hike
IMG_2484.JPG

IMG_2497.JPG

Mount Cook
IMG_2512.JPG

Mount Cook
IMG_2523.JPG

Mount Cook
IMG_2545.JPG

Mount Cook
IMG_2496.JPG

Sort:  

This is absolutely breathtaking nature! Amazing!

Yep! I love New Zealand!

I've never been there, but judging from all the pictures I've seen, I'm sure the nature is absolutely stunning. Would love to go there someday.

Yes the nature is spectacular, very varied!

Impressive photos, i'm jealous :P Zealand was already on my bucket list and now i add this hike :D

Thanks! Yes, it's an amazing place! :)

Beautiful photos and an incredible country New Zealand. Did not know that Mount Cook is so dangers.

Thanks! Yes, unfortunately it is! :/

I was there in July!!! We were hiking in the snow then, and it was really lovely.

By the way, I am part of the Steemit Worldmap curation team. It would be great to see your travel posts on the map. You can find out more about it on http://steemitworldmap.com. Just click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon!

Really beautiful. Sadly I am no longer fit enough for this sort of hike. I miss it. Upvoted.

Thank you! I'm sad to hear that! :/

That is GORGEOUS! I would love to go there someday!

I strongly recommend you! :)

nice so beautiful

beautyfull photography....

Thanks💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54