The Pancake Rocks in Punakaiki

in #travel6 years ago


It's incredible what nature can create. I mean, take a look at this artwork in Punakaiki, New Zealand. It took a while to get this done, actually 30 million years.

The pancake-layering of the limestone were formed by fragments of dead marine creatures and plants about 2 km below the surface. The fragments solidified into hard and soft layers because of the enormous water pressure. After that the limestone was slowly lifted above the seabed. The extraordinary shapes were sculpted by wind, seawater and acidic rain.

Source

I myself visited the Pancake Rocks in 2014 when I traveled around the world. I strongly recommend this place, it's located on the Southern island of New Zealand.


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh my gosh, you just brought back all my memories from our trip to New Zealand! 😃 It is such an amazing country. Hope you had fun!

I'm glad that also you have traveled in NZ! I traveled there for a month in 2014 with the Stray bus! :).. New Zealand is absolutely incredible!

I'm headed to New Zealand twice this year for a project. I may miss Pancake Rocks on my first trip, but it is for sure in the itinerary on the second.

There are many popular places around the world where nature has created a true artwork. People love looking at such places because they are unusual and unique in a way.If it was only possible for us to see the making of the pancake rocks that would have been really amazing but sadly we can't watch that since that has happened long time ago. I hope you had an amazing time visiting the place Borran ! = )

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=borran
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fi27j42s


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

it looks incredible such great NATURE :)
keep up the good work!
Id love to provide one day that great Value with my Music, like you do! :)

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @borran.

You got a 11.69% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @borran!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45