4 Lessons I Learned From Living Abroad

in #travel6 years ago

5,975 is a very exact number. It’s exactly the number of miles I live away from my home country. This is the first part of my series about living abroad for the first time.

IMG_5588.JPG

1. The importance of enjoying my own company

I moved to Asia by myself. Before that, I had always jumped from the home nest to shared accommodation at university. Making friends was one of the first things I made sure to do when I arrived in Hong Kong, but just as importantly I learned to enjoy my own company.

I'm no longer afraid about eating in a nice restaurant on my own - I AM afraid of missing out on a great dinner! Big cities can be the loneliest places, and it's important to enjoy travelling solo and make your own memories.

IMG_5750.JPG

2. How to nail an interview

Throwing yourself into a completely new, different community sharpens your skill to adapt.

What makes a great impression in British culture might not be the case in Hong Kong. Working with people from all over the world, I’ve learned how to make my best possible impression in an overcrowded city where you need to stand out.

IMG_5605.JPG

3. Never panic

I soon realised that my immediate support network was down to zero. Staying patient, letting things be, not sweating the small stuff - without these lessons, it would be too easy to become frustrated and anxious, with air miles and time difference keeping me far away from close friends and family.

IMG_6093.JPG

4. Say yes to more things

Is this one too obvious? Moving abroad is all about immersing yourself into something completely new and foreign to you. The more you say yes, the more you see and learn.

In my first month, I said yes to a ticket that took me on a night ferry with a few new friends. We ended up spending the weekend camping on a mystery beach for an amazing party in the middle of a remote island jungle. No regrets!

All photos were taken by myself on a Canon EOS M10 in Hong Kong.

Sort:  

Hi Emily what a great idea, moving abroad diary for newbies ( like the dummies book series 😂) travel is a big tag on steemit so enjoy the ride and I am looking forward to the tips and Reading about your adventure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66