Sunday Morning on Santa Cruz Pier:

in #travel7 years ago

DSC03282.JPG
The morning was slightly overcast and cool, so my wife and I decided to take a walk along Santa Cruz Pier before we set off driving for the day. Within 5 minutes I could tell that Santa Cruz was a cool place. Teenagers casually skateboarded up the street, while others were jogging with dogs or riding bicycles. Nobody seemed to have a care in the World. down on the beach there appeared to be a swimming carnival of sorts. All the entrants were cheering each other on as the emerged from the icy cold water to run across the finish line. There was a good vibe all around.

DSC03255.JPG


THE SEA LIONS

DSC03263.JPG

I had just begun to walk out the pier, when first I heard them, then I smelt them, then I saw them. There was a small but vocal group of Sea Lions residing on one of the landings attached to the pier. They were either sleeping, sunbathing, playing or barking and seemed completely oblivious to the swimmers passing them mere metres away. It was nice to see humans and animals using the same waterways together. Apparently the Sea Lions migrate here every year for food and rest.

THE CARS

DSC03282.JPG

As I continued along the pier, some car enthusiasts had begun to gather. It was a Sunday morning and a fine time to take the pride and joy for a spin to the beach. They were mostly stood around chatting cars and listening to music. I spoke with a man who had spent 9 years restoring this Plymouth to the condition it is in today. I thought with the top down, some classic rock pouring out and the surfboards, this car really captured the spirit of Santa Cruz. There was even a spot to charge your electric vehicle if needed.

THE FOOD

DSC03292.JPG

DSC03288.JPG

There are plenty of spots to stop for food, drinks and souvenirs so we grabbed a hot coffee and sat for a while to take in the atmosphere.

Yes, there is no denying it...Santa Cruz is a very cool place and I am envious of all those who call it home.
DSC03307.JPG


Be Sure to follow more of my California Road Trip:
Santa Cruz Boardwalk at Night
My California Road Trip - Day 1 of 6: San Francisco to Santa Cruz

For more Travel, Food, Drinks & Adventure..Be Sure to Follow

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Very nice pictures! Greetings from Morocco! Upvoted and followed your account

@bkkshadow the cars! Sunday morning is sometimes a stretch, though. It is often more like 10:30-11:30 before people can peel themselves out of bed on a Sunday!

Looks like you are having a great time over there.

Is that Santa Cruz, California?
Ahh the saturday and Sunday mornings are perfect if you want a nice and calm trip, wherever you want to go everything is deserted :D
I had never seen sea lions sharing the same ocean with people, that must have been pleasant to see, I wonder if sometimes they get aggresive when a small kid or an obnoxious adult get in their way or try to poke them...
Yo have three dogs? :O And big ones also. I am traveling right now but back home my dad is taking care of 2 schnauzers and they are a lot of work, I wonder hoe you manage to keep 3 golden retrievers happy hahaha
I just made a post about how it was searching for a pink boa in Honduras, in case you want something to read.
I´ve always wanted to have a snack in a Californian dock, I watched the OC (Yeah, don´t blame me for that, I was young) and since then the docks of Cali have a special allure for me.
Great post mate! Upvoted at 100%

Cute Sea Lions and Labradors...and stunning cars there! Thanks for sharing pictures of Santa Cruz! Followed you :) We do travel vlogs on YouTube and would like to make some connections on Steemit! Please follow us back so we can be friends :) Looking forward for your posts

It looks very nice, I love that Plymouth it is a real nice car.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65