My California Road Trip - Day 4 of 6: Pismo Beach to Malibu

in #travel7 years ago

This is the day I'd been waiting for. The roads and beaches which I knew from all the Hollywood movies I'd watched over the years. As a movie fan I find it thrilling to actually visit some of the scenes from my favourite movies, and today I would get the chance. We left the charming town of Pismo Bech and headed south on Highway 1.


THE DRIVE

The smooth, wide road is carved so perfectly from the ragged, red rock cliffs which tumble into the ocean. The think black ribbon of tarmac hugging it tightly. I could drive this stretch of road every day and never tire from it. The stretch from Ventura Beach into Santa Monica is particularly stunning. It was a great opportunity to put the Camaro into manual and push it hard.


SANTA BARBARA


This place feels like Beverly Hills by the Sea. Santa Barbara embodies perfection in a town. The single story Mediterranean boutique shops opened onto a paved sidewalk lined with towering palm trees. After the eathquake of 1925 the entire town of Santa Barbara was rebuilt to these strict guidelines, and I must say it looks great. We took a drive up the main street and along the beach, then pulled into the pier to park and take a walk. It was a beautiful day and people were out and about and the town had a good buzz about it. I would have liked to spend some more time here but I was pretty excited to get to our next destination in time for lunch.


NEPTUNE'S NET SEAFOOD


This legendary Seafood restaurant and biker bar has appeared in many films and tv shows. The most notable for me were "Point Break" and "The Fast and the Furious". A replica of it was also used in "Iron Man 3". Nestled in a curve on a remote stretch of Highway 1 between Ventura Beach and Malibu proper, the diner provides delicious no-frills seafood at reasonable prices. We grabbed a table a beer and a fisherman's basket to soak up the atmosphere. Looking around it was a pretty equal mix of excited tourists like myself and hungry locals, with the odd biker.


MALIBU

Invigorated after lunch we pulled out onto the last stretch of road into Malibu. Million dollar mansions hanging precariously off cliff-faces above the water, cute and colorful beach houses with the sand at their doorstep, and the legendary beaches and life-saver shacks for which it is known. Malibu was cool in every possible way, and I can understand why many of L.A's wealthiest choose to keep a home here. We stopped at the pier and bought an ice-cream and watches surfers and fisherman making the most of their surroundings.


THE END

We actually made it Santa Monica late in the afternoon, but I will save that for the next installment. I hope you are enjoying my trip as much as I am.

You can check out the other parts of my adventure here:
DAY 1
DAY 2
DAY 3


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted

Oh man, so many memories man! Great photos man, looking forward to read the next.. Kings Head I hope? :D

Man! What an amazing place. I love southern California. Kings Head? Damn I think I missed that, what is it?

Ah just a old english pub we used to frequent.. has a english shoppe next door too. Can get your brit things like baked beans lol!

Anyway glad you loved the neighborhood, I used to be around santa monica a lot few years back. Lovely place oh and venice haha yes oh venice :)

@kenistyles
true to it sir... california is wonderful and got quite a lot to show for it... nice cmment dude!

Again enjoying your adventure trip around the States great photos and sceneries hope to get there myself one day.

thx for sharing

wow.. what a road trip... wonderful locations... thanks for sharing this.. keep it up

Travelling is always fun. I guess u have a wonderful time there! Beaut

Thank you for sharing your amazing day with us. The photos are gorgeous.

Have a great day and great rest of your trip. :)

Beautiful SoCal! I try to drive South everytime I can. San Francisco is great, but the weather in the South is incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37