Santiago in Lake Atitlan Guatemala

in #travel7 years ago

Today we left the main city of Lake Atitlan, Panajachel for the smaller more quaint Santiago.

We are staying here for the night at a beautiful little resort right in front of one of the volcanoes on the lake.

C1D9C971-1DD2-4844-B0A2-169C24581525.jpeg

We took a private boat instead of the public ferry because some other kind Canadians bargained a deal for all of us.

This made it much more comfortable and convenient than waiting around for the ferry.

521B247A-C85E-446F-A052-EF59B87F48CD.jpeg

It was awesome to pull up to this pier with surrounding volcanoes so close up and the village giving it that complete package.

I really enjoy the look of this part of the massive lake.

1630CE89-0284-44E6-891B-57346C43BC28.jpeg

As usual down here we grabbed a Tuk Tuk to get to our resort.

This town had a much more comfortable feeling than Panajachel in my opinion.

5983A567-EC37-4861-AB54-DB264D0227DE.jpeg

We visited the market and got some of the finest freshest fruits you can eat!!

Such great deals also here if you know how to bargain.

B0097AA7-09ED-43CD-AC38-B9286C6C8F0A.jpeg

Had to grab a delicious cup of coffee. They are hard to pass up in Guatemala.

460BE4F0-5358-47EA-8354-853DFE781BF0.jpeg

Now I am just chilling in my hammock outside my room.

I will show you my beautiful hotel here tomorrow and more on Santiago in the next couple days!

Have a great day Steemit... ;)

Sort:  

This vacation keeps getting better and better ;)

Another day filled with new adventures you guys are never going to want to come home. You are really packing in a lot in these 2 weeks.

fun.jpg

I know we really don’t :)

the coffees down there always look delicious. Also what an amazing feeling to just relax outside in the nature on the hammock!!

That's what called living life my friend. Now I have to go to El Salvador and share my experience as well lol

Yes please do!! Would love that :)

Huh, how's this place different from the first one? :D
Quite similar to me...

Ooooh, fruits!!! Adore fruits, you're SO lucky! :)

Yea volcanoes may look similar in some photos but they are different ones. :) Friits keep me going!! :D

Wow, truly amazing! The volcanoes are really picturesque and there is plenty to see around.

Yea so much around here!

I love it there. We've been to Lake Atitlan at least 4 times. Make sure and have a meal and relax at Casa Del Mundo. You can walk down the trail from Santa Cruz or just take a taxi boat there. Best views and food and place to relax on the lake for the money.
All the villages are great but San Juan is our favorite. Have a blast.

Wished I knew this earlier. Will try to fit it in. Thanks!

I just started following you... You have a lot of great posts on Guatemala. Do you have plans on going to other areas? ChiChicastenengo or Monterrico? Tikal? (although it's far away from where you are now.) We lived at the bottom of Cerro De La Cruz for 6 months and loved Antigua.

It’s our last couple days here and we are going to head back to Antigua for it so we are closer to the airport. We loved Antigua so much.

Will have to come back to visit Tikal and others. So much beauty here!

The volcano looks very imposing. a beautiful day has come for you.

Yea truly grateful:D

the volcano seems very sumtupus. but I always preffer the hammock. I think Im a bit lazy.) thanks for sharing a good day.

Yea it was so good after all the travel :)

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 5.78% vote... I was summoned by @bitdollar! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56