Google Translate App - Never Travel Without It - Or Perhaps You Should!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I had Germans for neighbours when I was staying in a flat in Spain recently.

Unfortunately my German is 'nicht so gut', and their English was 'not so good' either.

I was sure there was an app that listens to and translates spoken words into a chosen language.

Sure enough - Google Translate.

Funny how I needed it for German when I was in Spain!

I thought the app was really cool but it's a pity I never actually used it.

  1. I didn't like the idea of sticking my phone in someone's face to listen to what they say.
  2. The thought of doing so was slightly embarrassing.
  3. My German neighbours may have been offended.
  4. Not using it made us both listen harder and think about what was being said.
  5. Not using it forced us to come up with imaginative ways to help us communicate.

So yes I love the app, but more as a toy to play with than a Bable Fish...

What do you mean you've never heard of a Bable Fish before!

Bill

Sort:  

Congratulations @billthomson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85