Journey to the West - Donated Rear Panniers

in #travel6 years ago

Ask and you shall receive. Not only does it work in the Bible and Church - hopefully also in the Church - this saying really is useful when you apply it in life. Mathilde, my travel companion, and I asked on Facebook for donations of a couple of items for our travel and within just days, cyclist in Hong Kong begin to donate us stuff. If you are wondering what this journey is about, have a visit on my first entry for this particular trip. It explains the origin of my motivation to cycle from Hong Kong to France. Yes, you heard it right: from Hong Kong to France continuously by bicycle, camping along the way, without a single plane ticket.

Well, back to the donation. The generous donor is called Jacky Yao from the rather popular travel page Drone and Phone. He is vlogging a lot of travel related stuff and has really amazing videos made just with a drone and phone. I wish him all the best. Thank you again for your help!

20180601_203524.jpg

This is the rear panniers that are connected in the middle and the brand is Bikehut. It is not waterproof but comes with a custom made waterproof jacket that you can use to cover the entire bag. It is very easy to mount to the bike. Right now it is too dark but I am really looking forward to test this in live action. I guess, I still need to purchase the backrack to mount this bag but tomorrow shall be the day for that.

The bag is big enough to fit my MacBook 11 inch laptop in it's biggest rear bag. There is a small bag and a bigger bag on each side, a small back bag on each side and a giant front bag on the top, the connection between the rear panniers. The top features also two elastic strings with which you can bind your jacket, for example.

I am going to put on the left side bag all my electronics plus laptop. On the ride side I shall put my hiking shoes and slippers and also my white towel. The small back packs are super useful to put tools inside that I am going to use every day, such as my camping lamp and fire lighter.

There is another girl on Lamma Island, Hong Kong, who wishes to donate a bike helmet to us. We need two but I guess we only have to buy one now. Although, I am not sure if I should get one since it is burning hot at the start of our journey in South East Asia. I can't wait to collect the helmet in a day or two. I will mount my GoPro camera on it so it can capture videos for my YouTube vlog. In case you haven't seen my travel videos in Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Taiwan, check it out here.

Do you go on extended trips? What gears do you use and how do you get sponsorships? Please share with me some tips and tricks in the comment section! Follow me on Steemit if you want to get notified when I post new blog articles about this journey from Hong Kong to France. Like and share if really got inspired by this article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55