Journey to the West - Buying Supplies

in #travel6 years ago

Yesterday, all the supplies are finally in place. We went to the Flyingball bike shop in HK and spent an horrendous amount of money to get all the stuff we needed. Here is the picture.

20180602_164830.jpg

The pile of products include Ortlieb bags which we really love to bring to our worldtrip.

The day after, just a few hours ago, we assembled all the parts into our world travel ready bikes. Here is mine.

20180604_182320.jpg

I put my tools into the front frame bag and it also acts as my navigator when I put my phone on top. The helmet not only protects me against head injuries but it can also block out the sun. The small waterproof bag just next to my front frame has spare parts for the bike. I also attached the lock to the inner frame together with the pump and water bottle. The back and front racks are ready to take my bags. I will put my bike bags on the back rack and my guitar on the front rack. You get to see the final setup on the first day I ride out of Hong Kong. It looks like Thursday 7th of June 2018.

This is an unique opportunity to learn how to repair and fix bikes. I watched several YouTube videos and they are very helpful. Tomorrow, I need to adjust my front derailleur because the gear switch is a bit messed up and doesn't go to the right places.

See you next time in my sequel to the Journey to the West from HK to France on a bike. I hope I can make it. Will be a challenge on so many levels but I am confident that it will work out at the end. Cause my heart is at it.

Sort:  

Wow! I'm envious at how far some people ride. I hope to ride across the US someday but this is amazing. How many kilometers are you traveling? Also, have you considered using the cycling4steemit tag? It's an easy way to find some of the dedicated cyclists on here.

Hey buddy, the tag is super useful. I am going to use it for all future publications. Riding across the US would be amazing! Maybe you can try the Pan American road. It is impossible to plan ahead so far on a trip of that size. Besides, I want flexibility and a rigid schedule would go against my way of travel. I like to go somewhere without knowing. It should be around 20,000 km on the bike. It's a lot. I think it should last about a year or longer if we decide to cycle through all European countries.

Thanks for reading my article. I am glad to find some following on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55