Yellowstone, a story of geysers and pools

in #travel6 years ago

Of all the parks we visited, Yellowstone is our favorite! We spent 4 days there, but we wanted to stay so much more! There are things to do to see and do!

As I did not see in a previous article Yellowstone is very big and is divided into several areas. We have dedicated one area a day. Even as we had to make the choice!

On the first day we chose to drive down the Beartooth Road, through the Lamar Valley and visit the Mammoth Hots Springs. I detailed this in a previous article, here
https://steemit.com/travel/@bijotte/mammoth-hot-springs-beartooth-highway

I will describe our discoveries of the second day. Be careful you may want to go straight to Yellowstone!
All photos are personal! And come from my Nikon D3100;)

14082015-DSC_0692.jpg
Morning Glory Pool

We visited the Old Faithful area. From 9am we are ready and thankfully. At this time the park is deserted, but from 10am the crowd arrives and it becomes immediately more difficult to find a place on a bench to admire the geyser! At the visitor center all the necessary documentation is available to organize the day, especially the hours of the geyser explosions!

Here are our discoveries of the day:

  • Old Faithful: one of the most famous geysers. It is set like a clock and very common (about 1 hour per hour). It's quite impressive to see a geyser for the first time, especially since this one can go up from 32 to 55m! Still!

14082015-DSC_0511.jpg
Grand geyser

  • The Basins: Black Sand Basin, Biscuit Basin, Upper Pond, Morning Glory Pool and of course the Grand Prismatic Spring. To see the latter we took the height as recommended in the guide of the routard in french. And we had a nice view !!

14082015-DSC_0490.jpg

14082015-DSC_0681.jpg

14082015-DSC_0464.jpg

Another beautiful day! The continuation of the adventures in a next post with still beautiful photos !!

Sort:  

Wonderful shots -

Thank you!

welcome my friend

Thanks! But welcome in what?

Well it's a way of talking if Someone says thanks you you reply You're welcome 😂😂😂😂

🤣🤣 on my phone application, i didnt see your last reponse so i thank it's was a comment with just : welcome my friend. You are polite!😉

Oh I see, no problem my friend, I'm looking forward to see your new pictures

Loved Yellowstone. Made some new friends there (elk) and had a grand time panning the Yellowstone River (until we were told we couldn't because of some politics that were going on at the time.) Keep steeming!... great post.

Thank you! I hope i go back there with my kids! It was an amazing trip accross US! And it's an idea to take some time in yellowstone river! You did it in the park?

No @bijotte. I was in Montana (just over the bridge) panning. You're not allowed to take anything (rocks included I think) out of the parks without a permit (or you're a govt off getting the bene's)

Sure if everyone was taking stones or other objects in Yellowstone, it would distort the park

Like you, I would have wanted to stay many more days, the atmosphere, no matter how hot it is, is spectacular, I hope to visit something like this one day :D Nice photos tho. Greetings from Venezuela.

Thank you! Do you already visit this park?

I'm from Venezuela and its almost imposible do the trip to get there... I wish I can have the oportunity :(

I understand my coworkers is from Venezuela she explain me the situation in the country! I hope the situation will get better!

I appreciate what you say, thank you very much.

That is a beautiful picture.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42