The Best Job for an Adventurous Soul

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

If your adventurous soul always wants to be out exploring and experiencing life, you may question what in the world you should do for work?

DSC05044 copy 3.jpg

I see so many people trying to figure it out through pursuing some kind of side hustle OR they try to fit into the mold they put themselves in until they explode and wonder what would actually make them happy.

Since I have done all of the above, why not share what has been my favorite, most fulfilling job of all time (it's going to surprise you) AND my tips for jobs geared towards adventurers.

….ready for it? My favorite job was in...RETAIL.

Before you say, “I would never work in retail”, hear me out.

It was at an outdoor store called Mountain Equipment Co-op (or MEC), which is the Canadian version of REI.

What made this the best job?

  • I learned about places I’d never heard of (because the people working at the store were actually the most well-travelled people I’d ever met).
  • I gained the guts to do several solo trips (through the encouragement of my peers who were so self-assured- thanks guys!).
  • I got exposed to backpacking (I was previously a dedicated day hiker with no knowledge of multi-day trips).
  • I realized a million and two places and things I had to do and actually starting DOING these things (I've never met a group of people who used EVERY SINGLE day off to do what they love- it was just expected).

All of these BENEFITS came from the people I was surrounded by. I identified with the way they lived their life.

So, what you're really wondering now is: Am I fine with making minimum wage? Is it something I would do forever? NO..to both. But I do recognize that what I give up in pay, I gain in freedom. And sometimes jobs need to change because we are growing.

I now see careers in the bigger picture of self growth.

966bcfb830d0f52183e2f7c731170585.jpg

Your best possible life is the one that is most authentically you.

39ef9cabd6825a89f2c1653d63fdabc3.jpg

So the goal is then to have work that helps you develop and grow in the direction of your TRUE self.

11c7d6a583dcb9898a2cc48051b6437a.jpg

Unfortunately, it's not so simple. And because we need to constantly grow, the perfect job won't stay perfect. But understanding that something is going to be right and taking the risk to try it out is a big step.

Isn't work just supposed to make you money?

Maybe you disagree with me; maybe you agree with The Money Habit's argument that work is to make money and your non-work hours should be spent enjoying your passions and hobbies and that millennial are messing it all up trying to make work fulfilling.

All I can say is that when my work life doesn't allow me to be who I am, that carries over into my “non-working” hours. It takes a toll on me to not live authentically.

You can’t just be yourself during non-work hours and expect everything to be okay.

519c80d95bf6516abea4ab70b794c79b.jpg

So adventurous souls, this is my takeaway: Fame and fortune from a career isn’t everything. You can be happy and fulfilled in work that most people might not find appealing AS LONG AS you are doing work that is authentic to who you are.

Some tips for satisfying your adventurous soul:

  1. Have a skill that can take you to all parts of the world. I know of a hairdresser that sold her shop and was able to support herself by giving haircuts to other travellers. Another friend of mine knows first aid and does ski patrolling! Cooking jobs, skiing or diving instructing, and teaching english are other skills that can take you places.
  2. Try seasonal work. It is great if you aren’t ready to commit or just want to try an industry out (and it doesn't have to be far from home, but if it is you can work during one season and then travel during the other, for example).
  3. Look into working at places you frequent often since you likely identify with their culture and will fit in well. (A good option if you aren’t ready to pick up from home just yet).

So tell me, what is your take on the career-lifestyle compromise? What appeals to you as an adventurous soul?

Let me know in the comments!

Also, I am doing 30 posts in the next 30 days so please follow along!

Sort:  

Nice post you need to keep up this good work. You should check out this service they are really great

WhaleBoostUp Resteem and Upvote Service / www.whaleboostup.ml

I totally agree with this world view! If you aren’t doing what you love, or at least something that can make you happy, what’s the point?! Great post. I’ll drop a follow ;-)

Thank you! Your photos of Yosemite are amazing:)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56