You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stroll through Prague (Day and Night, plus interesting odd things!) (Ulog #35)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the support and glad you liked it!

Europe tends (on the surface) to be a little less overtly patriotic than the US, however, there is a current wave of nationalism sweeping the continent... I hadn't really noticed the flags in the photos, but looking back, it seems to be two of the photos, which are the two sides of the same building. So possibly it was something for that building of perhaps there was some other explanation... I'm not sure! But you did pique my interest in your article!

I can't find your post, do you mind dropping me a link?

Sort:  

It was understanding the difference between UK (at least) and US patriotism that made me wonder more. But in the UK it's seen as akin to racism to be proud of your country. I'm trying to learn more about how other countries are.

I might not have put it on Steem, as I'm often looking for something to post on Whaleshares, etc, when I have something that's Steem only.

https://whaleshares.io/photography/@viking-ventures/patriotism-good-or-bad

Interesting... I personally find that the American way of patriotism is a bit too much heart on sleeve and too overt. It is something that seems to me to be a bit weird, as it seems (from the outside) to be ritual rather than substance. Of course, for some it is really substance, but I think (again from the outside) it is mark of belonging that is often highjacked.

Other countries are patriotic as well, just no need to show it so overtly on the surface? A sort of inner pride rather than something to shove in other people's faces... especially when the people that you are "showing" are fellow citizens! (This is from an Australian point of view, I am horrified by overt displays of what sometimes is passed off as "patriotism").

I was definitely curious about the Aussie point of view as well. I do feel it slightly odd that we Americans are so impassioned about a piece of fabric, but many are. I would be more interested if the flags of the local native tribes were also honored as part of the whole thing a bit more!

I was in the UK too long to feel 100% American anymore. :-)
Still, in the UK, there was a lot of self-deprecating remarks made about being British or even English. I often felt that a little more national pride (other than for football or rugby - few are proud of the cricket) would be a good thing for the youth. The flag is one expression of this.

I think it is more the mentality of the people... in general, the UK and Australian outlooks are more along the lines of no sacred cows... well, it used to be! Definitely it was more acceptable to poke fun at ourselves (something that I believe shows a strength of nationality and self to be able to do). Likewise, we (I) would poke fun at others if I felt them to be strong enough to handle it, but we wouldn't do it against the weaker... However, this is only one person's perspective!

So, I guess strength through putting your self down (as you have to be strong enough to be able to do that)... but putting others down is not so acceptable, there is no strength in that.

Nothing wrong with putting yourself in jest - or to point out your weaknesses, but when children constantly hear how Europe is doing things so much better than England, it eventually seeps into their being. I heard far more people complain about England and how they'd be better off almost anywhere than I heard of people being proud to be British. Maybe it's just that understating habit that the Brits have (and probably the Aussies by extension) - some Americans have it too, but to a lesser degree.

I suspect it's more related to being more subdued by nature (the Brits) combined with the fact it was generally the more outgoing types who would have emigrated to the Colonies first. Obviously, the situation with Australia was a little different, so it throws out the logic about whether they were more outgoing or not.

The reason I say this is because of my observations regarding cheering...
In the UK, cheering for someone is considered to be a very American thing. Whereas in the US it's very normal - and possibly rude to not cheer.

(BTW, on a totally different note, when I got back to the US, having just spent a year in South Wales, I realized very suddenly that you Aussies have Welsh vowels! I was watching H2O with my girls when I had that revelation.)

It must be a different mindset, I feel pride in my country (mostly), but I'm quite happy to make fun at it! I think that tends to be the same for most of our people. The kids grow up with that same internal and contained pride...

... And with that cheering example, I guess that is at the heart of the difference? I would find it weird to cheer for something that you didn't find good! But cheering, just because it would be rude not to, and because everyone around was cheering... Strikes me as strange! So it is with the overt displays of patriotism!

Ha ha, Australia and Wales! Who would have thought! Although, it is interesting to see how the Australian accent has changed dramatically since WW2. It used to be more 'british'!

It's not that we're cheering for something we don't find good - It's not that we feel forced to. It's just that we wear our heart on our sleeves a little more. There isn't this cultural expectation to be "reserved" and to keep the "stiff upper lip" or to understate everything the way the Brits do. I know they still do this because I learned to do it myself when I lived there.

I guess one of the biggest differences between Europe and the USA is that we made our country - rather than inherit it. Although it wasn't my immediate ancestors who fought - even for the west, I can still tell you who it was in my lineage who helped establish this country. (I am the fifth generation of my line born in the state of Oregon - though none of my children, nor the cousins who shared that part of my lineage, were.)

As we get further and further away from our founders, US patriotism may change within the next 100 years, who knows?

When I looked into Welsh emigration to Australia, it turned out to be a very big thing - probably the greatest single influence other than the original forced settlers. Hence, even, "New South Wales"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65