You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This crazy little airport in the Himalayas

in #travel8 years ago

The hiccups that occur along the trip are what really make for memorable stories. I might not speak for everyone, but when someone tells me about the resort they went to vacation with the open bar and massages, my eyes start to glaze over.

But give me a story where you lose all your clothes and supplies because an airline put your luggage on the wrong flight and you are now spending two weeks in a remote village, and my ears perk up.

As much as I'm sure that you would have wished for smooth sailing (flying in this case), you now have stories to tell that anyone would be interested in listening to.

You seem like the type of adventurer who would love the book Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. If you have not read the book already, it tells the tale of a mischievous boy who turns into a man with some of the most incredible stories I have ever read about. (Skip the movie, as it is not as good as the book).

I appreciate all the photos you posted to give us the experience of actually being along with you on that crazy runway and plane ride. I'm not afraid of heights, but did receive a thrill from taking a helicopter ride in Alaska and landing on a glacier to explore with a tour guide. Also, Uganda is a place I will write about someday as it is full of adventure and the people have incredible stories of heartbreaking loss, but are extremely generous and hopeful.

I especially enjoyed your rendering of what airplanes should not do when approaching cliffs haha.

Hope to follow along on the next chapters of your journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44