Travel Diaries: Penang's Wrought Iron Caricature ⭐️ Street Art.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Wrought-iron caricatures greet you around (almost) every corner as you explore Georgetown.

Fun Fact: Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia is the birthplace of designer (& Malaysian pride) Dato. Jimmy Choo.


”The street is named after Kapitan Chung Keng Kwee who generously donated his house to the Municipality for vehicular access ensuring his name lives on for posterity.” Ah Quee Street

Host to the Obscura Photography Festival, Georgetown is a colonial town featuring international and local art. A Unesco Heritage site, the whole town takes you back to “Old Malaya”, yet retaining modernity.

One of a kind and such a treat to art-lovers!

The best way to explore Georgetown is to get lost.

”A cannon shot fired during the 1867 Penang Riots made a large hole in this area, hence the name Cannon Street.”

With a bit of sleuthing, I Iearned these wrought-iron sculptures accompanied by humorous depictions were commissioned by Sculpture At Work (located in Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur).

The Penang State Government launched an art competition (2009) in efforts to promote art in public spaces. Sculpture At Work won.

“This old Acehnese Godown was originally a jail building
already extant in 1805, hence the brick walls and small windows” Acheen Street.

Not only were hapless cows bred and slaughtered here, but you could also smell the fish hung out to dry.” Malay Street

There are 52 of these caricatures to various corners of the town.
Each with captions relating to daily local life.

Be sure to keep an eye out and look into guided tours on Georgetown’s art if you’re interested!

I write about Georgetown’s gorgeous street art in my next post.


📸 Images are originals and belong to me.

Follow me @BelleKaur.

🔹Upvote and Resteem🔹

Read more about Penang below:

Sort:  

Love the pics! I didn't see those wall art when I was there. Only went to see those at Armenian street.

Penang's full of surprises :)

That's really unique. Neat idea and nice photos!

thank you! I thought so too! ✨

they are! there's so much more that I'm sure you'll appreciate! ✨

woooww I've ever visit that place long time ago...now much better, creative and artistic..love it so much..can't wait ti visit penang again.

Thanks for sharing .

we can mutually benefit each other following up & upvoting each others blog.
my blogs are related to Yoga ,personal development & crypto currency .which you will definitely like .
have upvoted above post .waiting for you coming to my Small home of wellness .

These are so cool. Reminds me of our Capital, there was an artist that was painting all the electricity boxes on the streets.

that sounds lovely! where do you live?

Oh currently I live in London but I come from Bulgaria and that's where these street arts are. :)

my friend has a place in Nessebar and I've been wanting to visit! I'll definitely be in touch for travel tips! 🤗

Hehe, no worries! Nessebar is nice and close to everything - the craziness of sunny beach and some more calm places to relax. :)

Wow ... Another one of my list of things to see in Penang 😁 . You are seriously good at finding lovely things like these

there's more!! and thank you buddy! ✨

@bellekaur beautiful street art :)
PS. Please check my new post about Multimedia Fountain Park in Warsaw.
Cheers!

thank you! I shall! ✨

How fun! Thanks for sharing the pics and stories. I need some cool art like that on my little farm ;)

that would be so cool! hahaah! may give you a little giggle too! 👍🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85