Travel For Dummies

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Six Mistakes I Have Made and What I Have Learned to be a Better Traveler

travel1.jpg

I grew up in a frugal family which did not travel too often. When we did travel, it would be day trips across the State of Florida, where I grew up, and then right back home the same day. I didn’t know how to travel to get the best experience and made alot of mistakes along the way. I am going to share my top ten mistakes (although there are so many more, sheesh) that have helped me get the best travel experience, no matter what. This is not about saving money, but it is about saving sanity.

  1. Do Your Research

travel2.jpg

Too many times I booked a vacation, thinking to myself, I will find something to do once I get there. I experienced this most when going on cruises. I made the assumption that the cruise ship would offer all the amenities, and that I didn’t have to look up stuff on my own. What I learned quickly was the trips offered on cruise ships ended up being day trips I didn’t have any interest towards. They were either activities dling something i had already been doing for years (dolphin experience, snorkeling, remember I grew up in Florida) or they were overpriced and underwhelming (renting scooters in cities where I knew it would end in a broken leg). I would spend my vacation googling places to go and sites to see, instead of being prepared. It ended up frustrating me , and in the end, I didn’t even see anything that I really wanted to see.

  • Google is your best friend: look around on the internet for the hot spots, memorials, and must sees while at your destination.
  • Ask your friends: My friends have been great for off the beaten path finds, especially for food in the area. (This leads me to my next mistake)
  1. Eat Food You Can’t Get Back Home

travel3.jpg

I learned quickly that eating cheap fast food to save a buck or two was good when I was traveling while in college. That continued with me into my late 20’s, but then came to a screeching halt after gaining 35 pounds, and realizing I wasn’t experiencing any local culture! Now, before I head off to a new destination, I like to explore both Zomato and Yelp to see what the locals eat. I also go off of recommendations from friends and family who have visited prior to me. For example, when I went to Los Angeles, I made sure to stop at Pinks Hot Dog stand, and experience I won’t get back home.

  1. Plan Ahead

travel4.jpg

So, I don’t want you to get rid of all spontaneity, but planning ahead can have its pros. I have found the "6-week ahead" rumor to be true. If you book your vacation on a travel website 6 weeks ahead, on a Tuesday, you will find the best prices. It is a little trick that I have been using for years that I learned on Pinterest, and I believe it to be true. According to other travel posts I have read, it is this date that flights and hotels will lower their prices in order to ensure that they will book enough patrons. I have found Orbitz to be the best travel website. You can earn Orbucks with them, that you can use towards other vacations. Using the “6-week ahead” trick, I was able to book a six day, five night, 4 star hotel stay, with round trip airfare for two, for $850. I have paid for my hotels in full with my Orbucks in the past, paying for two separate stays during a cross country road trip from Florida to Oregon, so they now have a loyal follower.

  1. Don’t Book the Cheapest Room

travel5.jpg

I used to live my life in hotel rooms similar to this one, as the most important detail of the trip was to maximize booze and party money. In my late 20’s, after I decided to slow down on the drinking, I noticed what I had allowed myself to book in a sober state (and it wasn’t pretty). I decided from then on, that I would spend the extra $10–20 per night to upgrade to a hotel that had clean linens, and even possibly a free breakfast! I’m not saying I only stay in 4 or 5 star hotel rooms, but I found that when you splurge on the little things like this, you can really enjoy the feeling of luxury, and being on vacation.

  1. Pay Attention to Your Flights

travel6.jpg

Don’t take the red eye flights to and from your destination, unless you prefer to travel at those times. I thought it would be smart to save $15 on my flights, and took them a few times. I always end up in the middle seat, with two passengers I never met, falling asleep on my shoulders. Don’t even get me into having to go to the bathroom if everyone in the aisle is asleep! It’s worth the upgrade to have an enjoyable flight.
Also, if you find an airline you prefer, stick with them. No one will ever match up. Just pay the extra money to get something you are comfortable with. I am a lover of Delta Airlines. They have TV’s that offer music, movies, and TV, a trip tracker that tells how far until your destination in time and miles, free snacks, good food options, and some even have phone chargers now. The only time I don’t use delta now is if it isn’t an option. There are no hidden fees, and you always can expect consistency. That is important to me. I decided to go with a cheaper option for my Las Vegas trip, and flew Spirit Airlines. I thought I had a great deal, until I started to add up all the extra charges. You have to pay for your seat, there are no TVs, no big carry-ons, and a plane full of grumblers, unhappy about the hidden fees.

  1. Pack for Your Vacation

travel7.jpg

This picture is a perfect depiction of what I used to do to myself. I would pack a whole bunch of garbage I knew I didn’t need, and would come back with a bunch of clean clothes, plus new clothes I had to buy because I did not pack appropriately for the weather. Make sure you pay attention to the weather in the area you are traveling to before going on vacation. I once traveled from Florida to Washington DC the first week of April, without looking at the weather, assuming it would be mild. We flew in with our flip flops on, with an agenda already preset to start going to attractions. On this particular day, halfway through, it started sleeting. We had to stop at a mall to get appropriate clothing to make it through the rest of the day.

Remember, this is a vacation, and you want to enjoy it as much as possible. Too many times I had come home and needed a vacation from my vacation, because I stressed myself out to the max, when it all could have been taken care of with a little bit of planning.

Please Share! What travel tips can you share with us? What helps you to enjoy your vacations?

Sort:  

Nice.... Hope you like my art

Vote got me😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62512.15
ETH 2436.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66