Redwoods Trip

in #travel6 years ago

redwoods.jpg
picture credit

None of the pictures in this post are mine. When I post the trip in 2 weeks, then you can compare my photos with these!

I will be embarking on a glorious road trip in 3 days, from April 7 through April 14. Where am I headed? To the most amazing ends of the United States, one being the Redwoods National Forest and Humboldt National Forest. Pictures cannot even describe how ginormous these gentle giants are, which is why I have decided to go check it out for myself.

I have never been to Redwoods National Park/ Humboldt National Park, nor have ever visited a park that substantiates some sort of special kind of tree. This will be my first time actually out with nature as a vacation, opposed to most vacations I take into inner cities to explore why people flocked to the metropolitan area in the first place. I'm going to share the stops along the way, and after I am back, of course I will post all of the pictures.

Here is how the trip will look:

April 7
Depart from Portland to eventually stop and arrive at Crescent City, California
See the 45th parallel outside of Salem, Oregon. - we passed the same sign a couple of weeks ago, but in a different part of Oregon. We were headed to The Cove Palisades State Park, and I was so upset that we did not stop in order to take a picture.
parellel.jpg
picture credit

Finally arrived at Crescent City California, to stay in the Oceanfront Lodge

April 8
Battery Point Lighthouse
batterypoint.jpg
picture credit

Elk Prairie - I understand that there is a high probability that you are able to see elk at any time of the day and the year. If you know of better times or days, let me know!
elkprairie.jpg
picture credit

Fern Canyon - I was told by a user that parts of Jurassic Park were filmed in this area, I don't have any substantial proof of that. I am happy with thinking that though LOL
ferncanyon.jpg
picture credit

Cathedral tree trail head
Trees of Mystery - normally I would not want to stop at a place that looks so ridiculously cheesy, but, I saw that there are Gondola rides here. I feel like this is something that I can't miss, being able to ride among the Giants up close and personal. If you have any information about this, I would love to hear about it
Return to Oceanfront Lodge for the night

April 9
Lady Bird Johnson Grove
ladybird.jpg
picture credit

Tour through Tree in Klamath
tourthru.jpg
picture credit

Wedding Rock
Trinidad trailhead
Trinidad Pier
trinidad.jpg
picture credit

Possibly Black Sands Beach in Shelter Cove, although I'm not sure we will have time for that
Arrived at redcrest Resort on the Avenue of the Giants

April 10
Explore the Avenue of the Giants

April 11
Explore the Avenue of the Giants

April 12
Leave the Redwoods National Park and head back towards Oregon.
Oregon Caves National Park
Arrived at the Riverside Inn on the Rogue River

April 13
Staying at Riverside in for the night
Friday the 13th always holds significance meaning to my boyfriend and I. We met on a Friday the 13th, so we always make it a point to celebrate this day when it comes every year as it is one of our anniversaries. I am hoping to find a nice place in the area where we can have a cool and fun anniversary dinner. Any ideas are welcome!

April 14
Drive back home to Portland!

I can't wait to show everybody my journey and hope that I can get some more ideas. If you think I'm doing too much in one day, let me know! I always jam-packed my days just in case. I have a fear of missing out, and I never want to miss a thing!

Happy travels and can't wait to tell you all about it along the way!!

Sort:  

@beemillz This looks like an amazing, well thought out trip! I look forward to seeing your post about it. Fern Canyon looks incredible, I have to go there! Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65