Off Leash Adventures: The Valley Of Fire, Nevada

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Everyone,
I love travelling with my dogs, and try to take them to as many places as I can. So when I agreed to join my friend Kara, and her boyfriend Rich (from Boston) on their camping trip to Utah, we needed to agree on a meeting place. We chose The Valley Of Fire State Park in Nevada.
We both loved the orange stripy rocks in Sedona Arizona, so this place seemed right up our alley, with preverbal bells on!

rocks.jpg

Driving the long 270 miles from home to The Valley of Fire, I was grateful to have the dogs in the back of the car for company, and especially happy to have them with me when filling up the car at a gas station on the outskirts of Vegas, when a guy approached me asking for money. Once he got close a big black and white head came out the car window towards him (no bark or growl, just a stare) this was enough to have him back away, keeping his distance from me. Good boy protecting his Mommy!
Then we were back on the road and following the signs to the park entrance, which we had agreed would be our meeting point. We paid the $20 entrance fee and parked the car for us all to get out and have a potty break, while waiting.

The park is Nevada's oldest State Park, covering over 46,000 acres. The state park derives its name from red sandstone formations, the Aztec Sandstone, which formed from shifting sand dunes 150 million years ago. These features, which are the centerpiece of the park's attractions, often appear to be on fire when reflecting the sun's rays

Now we had our party together we drove straight over to where the stripy rocks where that we had seen pictures of, as it was these photographs that had inspired us to visit.
So happy to see each other!
We had not seen each other for 2 years till this day.

us.jpg
Selfie took by Kara Murphy.

There was a small parking area, and a trail to follow.
As it was the desert I checked the sand temperature to make sure it wasn't going to be to hot for the dogs feet (If it was to hot it would burn their pads, so they both have hiking boots for these occasions).
We walked around the sand and stone for a while, taking in the views surrounding us.

happy.jpg
Photo taken by Rich, Kara's boyfriend using her phone.

We walked over the stone to where the stripy rock formations where, these were by far my favorite!

fire.jpg

It seemed like the park went on forever! And there were plenty of trails to follow, but as the hot sun above us started to raise the temperature, we headed back to the cars and A/C for the dogs to cool off.

buddy.jpg

We also had a long drive in to Utah to complete before we could camp that night, although we all said we'd be happy to come back on a cooler day to explore more.

We made it in to St George, Utah that evening to camp for the night before driving the last section in to Zion the following day. Both dogs slept all the way in to Utah, and were happy to snuggle up to me in the tent that night.

sleepy.jpg

I think they enjoyed the days adventure as much as us humans had!

Thanks for reading.
Please upvote my post if you found it interesting, and remember to follow me so you don't miss out on my future content.

Unless stated underneath, all photographs are my own.

!steemitworldmap 36.4855277 lat -114.5335003 long ´The Valley Of Fire, Nevada´ D3SCR

Sort:  

Dammmmnnn... looks like a destination I might need to add to my adventure

Its so cool there, not in temp though I'm afraid. Very interesting place to visit if you have the chance.

That looks really hot. How are your dogs handling the heat? Doesn't it hurt there paws?

Thanks for reading and the upvote.
I addressed the issue of heat in my post. First I checked the temp of the sand, but it wasn't hot enough for them to need their hiking boots. Then we left as the temp started rising, so they were back in the car with AC on before it got to hot for them. I would have stayed longer and took more photos, but my passion to explore comes second to my babies comfort :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=beckymeep
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=off-leash-adventures-the-valley-of-fire-nevada


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful photo:)

Would love to get there on next trip to US, thanks for sharing with us ! .) If u like some cinematic aerial photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be honor... :)

Thank you, I'll check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32