Oregon Here We Come

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I are finally going on vacation together. After weeks of planning to go to Zion National Park nature threw us a curveball. Two foot of snow in the forecast the day before we were due to arrive dampened our excitement to hike Angel's Landing. The Oregon coast isn't too far, and they rarely get snow, so we packed a few pairs of clothes and some snacks into our new to us 03 Ford Mustang and hit the road after I got off work at six o' clock.

On a curvy county road about thirty minutes into the trip we're getting pulled over for 75 in a 65. This is Montana, checking the speedometer is more of an after thought. The officers approach the windows and I have my papers ready. I tell him we're heading to Oregon for vacation and before he heads back to his cruiser he tells us he's just going to give us a warning. Whew, a close call! They return my papers and are having a bit of a chuckle at the plate my wife picked out at the DMV. She loves horses and horsepower so she picked a plate where the donation goes to rescuing wild mustangs. The plate reads, "A Heart For Horses" with a red mustang on it. Perfect!

I pull out real slow from the traffic stop; careful to not pepper the police car with gravel. Finally going down the road listening to some music and talking about our close call we begin to be peppered by hail. Luckily small hail which doesn't surprise Montanans at all but, being from Ohio, it still surprises me with how common and intense it can be. We get going on the highway away from the mountains and the bad weather subsides. We listen to Hardcore History by Dan Carlin and the miles fly by.

We pull in around 1:30 am at the Motel 6 in Spokane ready to drop. Tomorrow on to Portland. Follow me @beartooth-clark to stay tuned.

Sort:  

Would love to see some pictures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73